PDA

View Full Version : My very first WC set-up

Appelflap
11-18-2009, 07:55 PM
Hi everyone,

I'd like to water-cool both my CPU & my GPU, but I have no experience. I tried to gather as much information I could, but I still have some questions.

System:

CPU: Intel Core2Quad Q9650
Motherboard: DFI LanParty DK P45-T2RS PLUS
CPU Overclock Speed: Not going to OC!!!
Video Card & Quantity: 1 x GainWard GTX260 Core216 (65nm)
Videocard Overclock: Not going to OC!!!

Two requirements:
1. Silent system
2. Clean looks

Watercooling:

CPU Block: Watercool HK3.0 LC or LT

I know that the new Swiftech XT waterblock is beter, but 75euro (LC: 34euro/LT: 48euro) is a lot of cash + I don't like the looks. What I don't know is, which HK3.0: LC or LT?

NorthBridge Block: -
SouthBridgeBlock: -
Mosfet Block: -
Videocard WB/WBs: D-Tek FuZion GFX2

Is the D-Tek a good choose? Should I go with a full cover block?

Radiator & Quantity: 1 x HWLabs SR-1 240
Radiator Fans & Quantity: 2 x Coolink SWiF2 1201
Radiator Location: Front
Radiator Fan Direction: Cool Air from outside the case, I guess.

Will a single 240 (120.2) radiator be enough? (little reminder: no overclocking!)
The fans will be connected to a fancontroller, so they won't be running @1200RPM(56CFM) all the time.

Reservoir: Tube/Bay

I don't know yet. Either a tube (EK?) or a bay reservoir. Any thoughts?

Tubing & Size: Masterkleer ID7/16 of Feser Tube ID3/8
Barb/Fitting Size: Bitspower Barb-fittings OD1/2 or Compression-fitting OD3/8

I prefer the 7/16 tubing, but 3/8 tubing is available in UV orange (Feser tubing, any good?). Any thoughts?

Pump & Quantity: 1 x Swiftech (Laing) MCP350 or MCP655
Pumps-Series/Parallel: -

I looking for a quiet pump. A lot of people recommend the MCP350, but somebody told me I could adjust the MCP655 and turn it into a quiet pump. Thoughts and/or recommendations?

Anything Else?

THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

millertime359
11-18-2009, 08:11 PM