PDA

View Full Version : Noise comparisons between Water and Air?

voigts
10-29-2009, 08:36 AM
I have been watercooling now for some 4 years, and have considered on several occasions going back to air. I initially went into watercooling for quiet as at the time there weren't any good heatpipe CPU coolers like the TRUE that also are quiet. Unlike CPU coolers however, I don't see any real air cooling innovations when it comes to GPU coolers these days. I am wondering for those of you who use both cooling methods how your watercooled CPU-GPU setups compare noise-wise with the same air setups using high end parts. I am not a serious overclocker- more the 24/7 stable type.

I am running dual MCR320s with dual MCP350s and yate D12SL-12 fans all at about 7v. I find the fan noise to be very acceptable, but the pumps even when isolated from the case well are the loudest thing in my setup, and I wish they were quieter. And this is with them undervolted on a rheostat. I may just drop back down to 1 pump (I am running 2 at the moment for the sake of redundancy) to reduce noise. I however would like to know how air cooled setups compare from others observations.

zalbard
10-29-2009, 08:48 AM
Yeah, pumps are definitely annoying. I'd say you can get about the same overclock using air cooling with quiet fans as using water cooling if you do everything right (TIM, lapping, fans, heatsinks, case), with a bit higher temperatures of course. The big problem about air cooling is GPU cooling since it takes a while for after-market coolers to be released for new video cards.
I went from water to air myself, due to financial issues though, but I don't regret it.
Also it depends on how important looks for you are, because there is no doubt that water cooled system done right can look absolutely amazing compared to the bulky air cooled one.

Noisy
10-29-2009, 10:34 AM