PDA

View Full Version : best way to hook up computer to receiver

AliG
10-28-2009, 02:47 PM
hey I'm looking to get my first legit sound system and I figured you guys know what's best.

As it is, I have a creative extreme music that I snagged for $30 shipped off the classifieds year a while ago. I ended up buying, but then returning an asus xonar d2x because of a pci_e slot malfunction.

I figured instead of wasting my time on getting a pci sound card, I might as well get a receiver so that I can get some legit loud speakers.

for the receiver, I think I'm going to buy a refurbished harmon kardon 247. That should be more than enough for my needs, and they end up on average $170 (so same price as xonar, tight budget). Any thoughts on that receiver? I should note that I am a musician myself, so sound quality is more important than volume.

More importantly, I was wondering what is the best way to connect the receiver to the computer? I could buy the i/o add on for the extreme music and connect via optical to have perhaps a bit more software control, or just go straight optical to receiver and just put the sound card in a different computer?

Thanks ahead of time, sorry these questions are so n00bish. I've been building computers since I was 12 but have never really put much thought into quality sound products before.

RAW-Raptor22
10-28-2009, 02:55 PM
I just run 5.1 output (analog) from my Audigy 2 ZS to the 5.1 input on my Kenwood receiver. I use a set of three minijack out to 2x RCA cables. Good luck with your venture into real stereos. :)

trance565
10-28-2009, 05:15 PM
im not sure about what board your using, but mine comes with realtek hd output (7.1) which also has an optical out. i would suggest using optical.

straight optical would probably be fine, the only control you really need is an equalizer, which im sure you can download one to effect the sound for everything, or just set it up in your media player.