PDA

View Full Version : 5850 issues



Locke
10-26-2009, 10:32 AM
My 5850 has screen flicker problems on my second monitor. The flicker problems only affect the 2nd monitor which is an older 4:3 vga flat panel and when it seems to refresh. It will constantly flicker if GPU-Z is running and updating in it.

Also when playing playing BF2 and 2142 there are major polygon problems originating from the weapon and vehicles. These polygons all shoot out into space and appear to converge at some point in the distance. Ill post a pic later.

I have tried both the 10 and 9 version drivers and am on Vista 64. I will upgrade to 7 in a few weeks.

thanks!

Dezmen
10-27-2009, 10:23 AM
Try win7 + 9.10 drivers( and try 9.11 beta drivers)

Locke
10-27-2009, 12:31 PM
yeah ill be on win 7 in like 2-3 weeks

flopper
10-27-2009, 02:33 PM
its due to downclock from 3d to 2D as the voltage and mhz changes.
I got same issue, solution is to run card in 3D all the time as it is currently

Locke
10-28-2009, 06:29 AM
its due to downclock from 3d to 2D as the voltage and mhz changes.
I got same issue, solution is to run card in 3D all the time as it is currently

how do i do that in Vista? Thanks!

squeezee
11-01-2009, 03:10 AM
From what i'm seeing on my card (in win7 /w 9.10) the issue is that in multi-monitor mode the 5850 appears to default to a 400MHz/1GHZ (core/mem) idle speed.

However when you are overclocking the card (even by 1MHz), it uses the 157/300MHz idle speeds instead. This can likely be fixed by a modified bios with a different idle clock for the OC'd state; (there are two 157/300 entrys in the 5850 bios) or possibly ATI might fix it in a driver update.

Although any flickering should go away in games as the clockspeed goes up, your BF2/2142 poly problems are likely a separate issue.

Frodin
11-01-2009, 09:28 AM
Are you saying that the cards run at different idle clock speeds when there is more than one monitor/ screen connected? Hmm, what will that do to the excellent low power consumption when idle?

squeezee
11-01-2009, 05:21 PM
Are you saying that the cards run at different idle clock speeds when there is more than one monitor/ screen connected? Hmm, what will that do to the excellent low power consumption when idle?
Yeah when you look at the bios in RBE there are two main powerplay states, one is 157/300->550/900->725/1000 and the other is 400/1000->550/1000->725/1000. You see the idle clocks change immediately between the two when a second display is enabled or disabled.

I haven't measured it but idle power consumption is definitely higher, the card is certainly putting out more heat.

After looking at it some more, when you start OCing it uses the default 'single-display' powerplay state regardless of there being multiple displays enabled.

Frodin
11-03-2009, 02:33 PM
That's odd. How much do you have to overclock for it to revert to the default single-display powerplay state? 1 MHz?
Reminds me of my HIS 4870 1GB that draws about 15 W less power (well, the entire computer does anyway) when I'm running a video accelerated HD video, compared to completely 2d idle. Hmm, just noticed that the screen flickers and the memory clock goes down from 900 to 500 MHz when I open an HD video, and back up when I close it. Man, how hard can it be for ATI to get this right? Or is this perhaps vendor specific issues?

Glow9
11-06-2009, 12:34 PM
Wait what?? You have to set the card to run in 2d or 3d?

Insanity
12-18-2009, 10:31 PM
From what i'm seeing on my card (in win7 /w 9.10) the issue is that in multi-monitor mode the 5850 appears to default to a 400MHz/1GHZ (core/mem) idle speed.

However when you are overclocking the card (even by 1MHz), it uses the 157/300MHz idle speeds instead. This can likely be fixed by a modified bios with a different idle clock for the OC'd state; (there are two 157/300 entrys in the 5850 bios) or possibly ATI might fix it in a driver update.

Although any flickering should go away in games as the clockspeed goes up, your BF2/2142 poly problems are likely a separate issue.

Great, this solved my idle clocks problems, but now I'm getting the same flickering as the OP on my second monitor. :D Hope they fix this.

Edit : Windows 7 64 and 9.12 btw.

Humminn55
12-19-2009, 08:11 AM
Have you applied the 9.12 Hotfix? Seems to address some Crossfire issues.....

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/ATICatalyst912Hotfix.aspx