PDA

View Full Version : Netbook vs Small Laptop

Gator!
10-07-2009, 01:25 PM
OK so im a first year college student and before i was planning on getting the MSI GT628....but i thought about it and i figured mye eyes were getting to big for my belly so to speak...and now im thinking all i will be using it for is to use the internet type up essays.....but i still want some power behind it and i would rather use vista 7....so i know tegras offerings are coming soon what do you think my best option is and give me some examples...

zanzabar
10-07-2009, 01:26 PM
i would get the smallest acer time line

pheoxs
10-08-2009, 08:27 AM
For vista I'd say get a small laptop, even if you upgrade the ram the low speed atom processor will severely limit performance. That being said I grabbed a Asus 1005HA premium netbook up last week and absolutely love it, rated for 10.5hrs and I've been averaging 6-7 hours of usage tell it hits 30% and I recharge it. For internet usage, typing notes/essays and just general surfing, and for downloading torrents it works amazing.

SoulsCollective
10-08-2009, 08:33 AM
+1 for Asus 1000 series. Brilliant little machines.

Jowy Atreides
10-08-2009, 08:34 AM
i'm running win7 with aero et all on an msi wind u90

it's a standard atom 1.6ghz netbook kit, most netbooks of this time are identical spec and it's snappy, responsive and surprisingly fast

plus most atom netbooks come with overclocking options. The bios of my wind takes it up 25% or something - fast enough for anything you would want to do on a laptop

pheoxs
10-08-2009, 08:46 AM
i'm running win7 with aero et all on an msi wind u90

it's a standard atom 1.6ghz netbook kit, most netbooks of this time are identical spec and it's snappy, responsive and surprisingly fast

plus most atom netbooks come with overclocking options. The bios of my wind takes it up 25% or something - fast enough for anything you would want to do on a laptop