PDA

View Full Version : Paralell 2 PSU



ryssen
11-28-2003, 05:28 PM
Is it possoble to paralell 2 PSU at the motherboard connection to
get more power to the motherboard?

kromosto
11-29-2003, 04:45 AM
i was thinking to do that with my 2 elan vital 300w psu's at the last moment i get thermaltake 480w so decide not to do that if you try this pls tell me the result :)

X-Ecutioner
11-29-2003, 01:12 PM
it`s possible

i read a thread a month or so ago where somebody did that and won a competition with it... % OC...

he had 2x 300w i think and a 450w enermax for everything else ...

he made his own motherboard -psu Y connector :D

i thought about tryin that 2...

but at the moment i just wanna know how to vmod a 3.3v line ...
i got some old psus and wanna vmod one to get a better oc (riva tnt)

X

tennvols_69
11-29-2003, 02:44 PM
i thought about putting some zener diodes in line on the 5v 12v and if i could find a 3.3 put then on it would regulate the voltage to almost exactly the amounts.

Vlad Draculea
12-01-2003, 04:04 AM
paralelling psus, i dont think you should know it, nda, and you also must know that bad performance is due to L1 disabled.

ryssen
12-04-2003, 03:29 PM
if you try this pls tell me the result
I have done this mod now, and its workÃ:banana:ng.I made an Y-wire, I got an ATX wire from an old PSU and 2 konnectors from 2 bad motherboards. I had to disconnect the purple wire between the
PSU´s or one PSU would never shut down, now its working like
it should.Any one know what the purple wire is for. I have not
tryed if I can go any higher in FSB or higher CPU.Sorry for my bad
English.

Ace-a-Rue
12-27-2003, 04:48 PM
Originally posted by X-Ecutioner
it`s possible

i read a thread a month or so ago where somebody did that and won a competition with it... % OC...

he had 2x 300w i think and a 450w enermax for everything else ...

he made his own motherboard -psu Y connector :D

i thought about tryin that 2...

but at the moment i just wanna know how to vmod a 3.3v line ...
i got some old psus and wanna vmod one to get a better oc (riva tnt)

X

Here's the 3.3 mod:

http://www.bleedinedge.com/guides/psu_3.3v_mod/psu_3.3v_mod_pg1.html

Lasac
12-28-2003, 06:29 AM
Originally posted by ryssen
Is it possoble to paralell 2 PSU at the motherboard connection to
get more power to the motherboard?

yes its possible!

see here:

you have 2 psu with ATX connectors like this:
http://www.casemodbr.com/img/artigos/associacao/associacao1.jpg

Now, you need to solder it like this:
http://www.casemodbr.com/img/artigos/associacao/associacao2.jpg

Just plug you "master"/1st psu on the board!

Just power on the machine and the 2 psu's will work great! :toast:

Connect all ide drives, fans, etc to 2nd psu, and leave the 1st psu only for mobo!

This will give more power to mobo, because the 1st psu is only dedicated for mobo!

Source:http://www.casemodbr.com



Cumps, Lasac

Ace-a-Rue
12-28-2003, 07:59 AM
That is so cool!:)

Hell-Fire
12-29-2003, 11:42 PM
Thats a very nice mod. People have been doing that for a bit now to help compensate for buying an expensive psu when they have 2 lower wattage psu's laying around.

Millyons
01-29-2004, 08:24 PM
Originally posted by Lasac
yes its possible!

see here:

you have 2 psu with ATX connectors like this:
http://www.casemodbr.com/img/artigos/associacao/associacao1.jpg

Now, you need to solder it like this:
http://www.casemodbr.com/img/artigos/associacao/associacao2.jpg

Just plug you "master"/1st psu on the board!

Just power on the machine and the 2 psu's will work great! :toast:

Connect all ide drives, fans, etc to 2nd psu, and leave the 1st psu only for mobo!

This will give more power to mobo, because the 1st psu is only dedicated for mobo!

Source:http://www.casemodbr.com



Cumps, Lasac





Did anyone try this, Im seriously thinking about this, and witch one of the black wires are suppose to be connected


thanks

Ace-a-Rue
01-29-2004, 08:34 PM
From that picture, you take the green and the black wire right next to it. Don't you see that?

Millyons
01-29-2004, 11:13 PM
Ya that's what i thaught, but since i never modded PSUs and cuase of what it can mean if I screw up i rather double check

Vlad Draculea
02-06-2004, 11:19 AM
you can also do a lot of things.