PDA

View Full Version : Questions About Charging An Automotive Battery

Judaeus Apella
08-31-2009, 01:33 PM
I have to charge the battery for a truck, and I've never done this before. The charger has two switches. One that has the options "conventional low maintenance" and "maintenance free deep cycle", and another switch that has the options 2, 10, and 50 amp. I don't know about the first switch but I'm guessing I'm going to use the 50 amp setting? And how do I know what setting to use for the first switch? Is there some description or code I look for on the battery? I haven't looked at it yet and I'm sure I'll have to clean it off so I can read it. Don't worry, I won't do anything until someone explains this to me. I know batteries can be very dangerous, and I'll cover the electric connections and put on gloves before handling the battery. That's why I'm here asking these questions, I want to do this safely and make sure I know what I'm doing before I attempt anything. :)

All I know about the battery is that when I was upgrading this truck with new mirrors, headlights, oil filter, spark plugs, air filter, and a new battery, I bought the second best battery they had. Its a higher grade battery rated for better cold crank. I don't know if it has water or lead in it.... and I'm not sure what to look for to find that out.

If anyone needs more information on the charger, its the Schumacher SE-5212A.

trance565
08-31-2009, 01:46 PM
do the deepcycle, 10 amp, 2 amp would be for an initial charge for when you buy something like an empty liquid cell(slowest and strongest charge), 10 amp is going to charge it slowly, but will have a strong charge, 50 amp is for jumping your car.

i dont think they put lead in batteries anymore, it's either solid or liquid, the liquids are water based acids.

Judaeus Apella
08-31-2009, 02:09 PM
Thanks! That was a hell of a lot easier than the kind of answer I was expecting. :D

Judaeus Apella
08-31-2009, 05:14 PM