PDA

View Full Version : Question on airflow & temps

Aamon
08-27-2009, 01:07 AM
I have a coolermaster haf 932, with an xspc rx360 rad on top. There are 6 fans in push/pull bringing air into the case through the rad. I have been leaving the side off for a while, but now that I want to put the side of the case back on I seem to be getting worse temps, and poor airflow through the rad. So I was thinking if I had positive air pressure inside the case I would probably get a lot better airflow with my fans exhausting air out through the radiator. Do you guys think this will adversely affect my cpu temps or will it even matter.

century child
08-27-2009, 02:25 AM
How much airflow do you otherwise have going into the case? Are all the fan locations populated? If you've got good airflow into the case, I think you will see a minor improvement in temps if you switch to exhausting air out through the radiator.

Aamon
08-27-2009, 11:20 AM
There's a 230mm fan on the front, a 230mm fan on the side, and there's a 140mm fan on the back of the case. The 140mm on the back is currently exhaust, and the other 230mm fans are intake. But if I switch the rad fans around I'm going to also switch the back 140mm fan to intake. I figure if i'm using the rad fans to exhaust it would be better to have a little positive air pressure in the case. I should also note i'm not worried at all about graphics card temps, because it's in the water cooling loop. And the memory isn't a big concern as it's only clocked at 1600.

M.Fixit
08-28-2009, 06:03 AM
Aamon,

I am planning on building a very similar system to you (same case, rad and fan mounting) so I am very interested to find out which is the best way to set up the fan intakes / exhausts.

What else you have in your system and what temps do you have with and without the side on?

Aamon
08-28-2009, 06:58 PM