PDA

View Full Version : HTML - Intranet page and butons that open application



phinix_mike
08-25-2009, 01:53 AM
I'm trying to create a button on html intranet page that will open a Word, or Excel...
How this can be done?
Not a file, just a word with blank document...

Particle
08-25-2009, 06:02 AM
Generally speaking, this isn't going to be directly possible. It would be a huge security risk if web pages were allowed to launch binaries directly on client computers.

However, if you know the path of the program on the target computer, you can kind of fake it by linking the button to a batch file or program of yours that the user then runs (preferably after having been instructed to set their browser to always run that kind of extension) which itself launches the intended program. Likewise you could also take the custom browser plugin approach to make this happen more traditionally.

phinix_mike
08-25-2009, 06:20 AM
I know, tried different thigns here and it alwyas asks user to confirm to open or save..
is there any other way to create intranet page with Word opening button?

Particle
08-25-2009, 06:49 AM
I don't think you understood my post. Please read it again. The behavior you're getting is by design both as a usability and security feature. Most browsers allow a person to auto-run certain kinds of files, however, and if the user does so then clicking on the button will directly open your launch file(s). You can also make a browser plugin to facilitate what you're after.

phinix_mike
08-25-2009, 07:06 AM
How do you make plugins?

Particle
08-25-2009, 02:02 PM
It depends on which browser(s) you're targeting, but be warned: it'll be quite a bit heavier programming than HTML.

Here's a good place to get started if you're looking at IE:
http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/forums/en-US/ieextensiondevelopment/threads/

Firefox:
http://www.mozilla.org/projects/plugins/

Opera:
http://www.opera.com/docs/pluginapi/

Safari:
http://developer.apple.com/documentation/InternetWeb/Conceptual/WebKit_PluginProgTopic/Concepts/AboutPlugins.html

It's possible to write a plugin that works among Opera, FF, and Safari without a rewrite. IE will require its own.

phinix_mike
08-25-2009, 11:38 PM
I'll try that, thanks...