PDA

View Full Version : Heater core or real rad?

Underwater Mike
11-22-2003, 01:41 PM
Getting ready to start ordering the parts for my first water setup, and I'll probably have to do an external enclosure. I saw in THIS THREAD (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?postid=251834#post251834) that some of you guys are using a Chevy truck core with side-by-side 120mm fans. A few questions:

1) How tough is it to attach 1/2" fittings to a heater core? I can buy a small propane torch if I need to, but I have zero experience in that kind of thing.

2) What are the dimensions of that heater core? I need to plan for an enclosure.

3) Is making a shroud (or two) as much of a hassle as it sounds?

4) Between the parts and effort involved -- plus the likelihood that I'll mess up something -- would I be wiser to just spend a hundred bucks on a TC HE120.2 rad and throw some fans on that? I figure that the core plus fittings and materials would cost me about $50, not including the extras I'll need when I botch it the first time.

5) What do you think of THIS (http://www.galleria-e.com/cgi-bin/Colemans.storefront/3fbfcda302f9f6e6273fd81e6c0206d3/Product/View/134101) for the enclosure? Or should I go with a cheap Rubbermaid container?

Thanks.

Karnivore
11-22-2003, 11:14 PM
1) If you've never worked with a torch/solder before it can be difficult and I would suggest going with something already setup. (Dtek Customs Procore is decent for teh $$$)

2) Sorry this i cannot answer, perhaps my bump will get more answers for you...

3) Fan shrouds aren't bad at all, for a cheap easy to make Tupperware Sandwich containers work well. Or you can use sheet metal or Pleaxi, but more work..

4) Don't think i would buy a 100 dollar Rad... Procore from Dtek is ready to go with a shroud for around 50, and works quite well.