PDA

View Full Version : HDD'less Booting Systems

sjohnson
08-08-2002, 06:45 PM
IFMU - are you trying the CD boot? I've been doing Linux for about 7 years now, UNIX for MUCH longer. Distance trouble-shooting is no fun for either party, but I'll try if you can describe the issues. Here, PM or email, doesn't matter.

TheDude
08-08-2002, 07:07 PM
Very interesting.....Please do explain someone...might solve my lack of hardware problems!

IFMU
08-08-2002, 07:10 PM
Originally posted by sjohnson
IFMU - are you trying the CD boot? I've been doing Linux for about 7 years now, UNIX for MUCH longer. Distance trouble-shooting is no fun for either party, but I'll try if you can describe the issues. Here, PM or email, doesn't matter.
Yes I am. Basiclly, I am a complete n3wB to any kinda of *nix OS. Ive installed maybe twice and formatted within days.
Ok Ill try to throw out a few links to help with what Im testing out here.
Over on OC they have been making up some CD Booting software that will load up and run Folding. Thats it.
However, no one has explained how in the bloody hell they do it.
Ive tried every freakin version they have shown me. I had 1 version actually start and try to get Folding connected, but wouldnt. No clue which version it was, or even where it went. Think it got formatted off of the CD. heh....
Basiclly, I have 2 systems here that I can do nothing with due to no HDD's for. Neither is a great machine, but it would prolly be worth a few points in a week. 1 is a Celery333 the other is K6300. Could use them, but cant figure this crap out.
Heres the search link for OC.
Overfoldix (http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/search.php?s=&action=showresults&searchid=111976&sortby=lastpost&sortorder=descending)
That is what you can take a look at if you would. It would be able to explain a lil better then I ever could Im sure.
I just need something that I can load up, and run w/out a hdd.