PDA

View Full Version : Firewall

Hardass
08-07-2002, 02:39 PM
Trying to send file over AIM, won,t send get error saying if both parties have diff firewalls contact blah blah, what should I do. Linksys 4 port wireless router, running zonealarm.

Snowman
08-07-2002, 02:48 PM
aim = whore

aim has always been picky. u can try shuting down your zonealarm and not go through the router but i'd just set up an FTP server or email the file.

if you want to set up an FTP server i recommend BPFTP (http://www.bpftpserver.com/).

Hardass
08-07-2002, 02:50 PM
Originally posted by Snowman
aim = whore

aim has always been picky. u can try shuting down your zonealarm and not go through the router but i'd just set up an FTP server or email the file.

if you want to set up an FTP server i recommend BPFTP (http://www.bpftpserver.com/).
Tried the FTP thing wouldn,t work on other end, plus I have no experience with FTP stuff. Took me forever to figure out how to setup page. Using WS_FTP95LE

Tweaked!
08-07-2002, 03:20 PM
Might wanna try sending another file of very minor size and see if it was just that particular file. Are you able to connect and chat with other party without hitch??? I've xfered files over aim in the past, and I've got a Linksys router w/ basic zonealarm. If I remember correctly, the file size was 3-4 mb long.

Hardass
08-07-2002, 03:28 PM
Originally posted by Tweaked!
Might wanna try sending another file of very minor size and see if it was just that particular file. Are you able to connect and chat with other party without hitch??? I've xfered files over aim in the past, and I've got a Linksys router w/ basic zonealarm. If I remember correctly, the file size was 3-4 mb long.
Yea Tweaked, I have no trouble at all except when I tried to send files. It happened with 2 diff people.

stompah
08-09-2002, 12:18 AM
Hardass I know this will not help much but AIM sucksfor transfering files. It works sporadically for me. I just use MSN for that now. Much easier.