PDA

View Full Version : Please help me with my aircooling!

Noldor
11-03-2003, 01:55 PM
Before I post my specs and thought I'd like to point out a few things. I'm quite new to cooling and overclocking. Been reading these boards for three or four months, but that's it. So, I'd GREATLY appreciate if you explained detailed why I should do certain things, and what will happen. :stick:

The reason why I go aircooling is the following.

1. My parents won't let me do watercooling or refrigeration cooling because they believe it will destroy my system.

2. Liquid and refrigeration cooling is way too expensive for me since I'm 17 and I pay for all computer stuff myself. Parents bought my system though.

So, what do I want to do?

I want to get maximum overclock from my system. Ram, CPU and Graphics.
If i should add some fans and stuff the maximum cost is 200 dollars total. That's it, my budget can't affor more.
Noice and appearance is not of importance, though I'd like to keep everything inside of my case! So in other words, I want maximum cooling, for under 200 dollars with AIR.

My specs!

AMD Athlon XP 2400+
ASUS A7V8X 333 FBS support
Kingston 512MB PC 2700 one stick
80GB IBM 7200RPM HD 8MB Cashe
Geeforce4 MX400 128MB

Case: http://www.technoyard.com/hardware/miscellaneous/neon/page_1.html

One fan, for intake in the front. 80mm generic. One fan on the rear exhaust 80mm generic. And one fan in my power supply 360W.

All cables rounded and hidden away for maximum airflow.

My CPU cooler is an Arctic Copper Cooler with 80mm fan. Capable of cooling up to 2700MHz.

On my Graphics card i have a pretty small heatsink.

What are my temps?`

Well, my room temperature is ranging from 18C-22C depending on time of the day.

IDLE:
Case: 22-23
CPU: 35-37

NORMAL:
Case: 24-25
CPU: 39-43

FULL LOAD:
Case: 25-27
CPU: 43-51

So, guys! What do i do to get more COOOLING?!!

Thank you!

sandman
11-03-2003, 02:34 PM