PDA

View Full Version : Not quite new, but not quite experienced.

Sly Fox
01-18-2009, 12:13 PM
Built my first watercooling setup about 5 months ago. Been going strong since then without any leaks. :clap: So with that I'm fairly confident in my abilities despite the lack of aesthetics.

Now I find myself wondering if I shouldn't take the loop apart and rebuild it. Not solely to put in fresh water, but to upgrade some areas. In fact the water is still in good shape, distilled + Petra's Nuke (3 drops) has worked flawlessly.

But alas, I am still a newbie despite having a bit of experience under my belt now. :D So I'm going to go ahead and list a few queries I've developed over time.

1: http://www.petrastechshop.com/dadepocofig1.html
^^Are these the "compression fittings" everyones always raving about? They look awfully expensive to me but if they provide a perfect clamp and better reliability than traditional worm screws, then that would be fine. I want no leaks, ever, that's what I'm shooting for.

2: Is tygon really better than masterkleer? I used MK and found it to be alright, and I appreciated the price. But I also found that once you start bending it more than a little bit it tends to "collapse" on itself a little bit. Not enough to be THAT worrysome, but annoying.
-So in essence, should I spring on tygon? Or is it the same old stuff.

3: My MCRES has developed a few cracks. I know it's acrylic and can have a few cracks without falling apart, but should I replace it? I don't know much about acrylic, but it seems that if it's cracked a bit, it will only crack more into the future.

4: The Apogee GTZ. Is it really worth $65 if you already have a decent block? I realize my GT isn't exactly top of the line ball-bustingly incredible, but it seems to cool even a Q6600 fine.

Thank you for taking the time to read my long winded rant! :up: :ROTF:

cdnbum88
01-18-2009, 12:19 PM