PDA

View Full Version : Advice on CosmosS for better cooling

spoof
12-28-2008, 12:08 AM
So, i'm still new at water cooling, so i need some advice.

I have my rig mounted like this: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=3371397&postcount=78 (this is mine :P)
With fan mounted on top and with all part on there place - side panel (without side fan) and top panel over the fans i have like 70C under load. Removing the side panel and the top panel there si 15C difference and i go to 55C (on all cores). So, what should i do to make the things better, because i don't want to keep my case open.

Thanks!

pirateghost
12-28-2008, 12:26 AM
my first guess would be that the high temps are being caused by the spaghetti mess in your case.

try to clean up the wire mess and see if that will help. beyond that, perhaps you need better fans?

SNiiPE_DoGG
12-28-2008, 12:30 AM
dump those crappy noiseblocker fans ASAP.

also turn the fans around so they blow down, across the rad. this will help temps a bit at the very least.

for radiator performance either go with some petra's yate loons of your choice of speed or if you prefer, some zalman ZM-F3's which are the best performing rad fans of the medium speed 25mm variety.

Lastly: Remount the CPU block and make sure you are using only a bit of thermal paste (MX-2 is my preference) in the center of the processor.

spoof
12-28-2008, 04:21 AM
my first guess would be that the high temps are being caused by the spaghetti mess in your case.

try to clean up the wire mess and see if that will help. beyond that, perhaps you need better fans?

I'll do this ASAP, but i think, that in this particular case, i'm not sure that this will make difference.

dump those crappy noiseblocker fans ASAP.

also turn the fans around so they blow down, across the rad. this will help temps a bit at the very least.