PDA

View Full Version : Understanding Resistors and Pots....

Kunaak
10-20-2003, 07:07 PM
I am trying to learn how to do mods 100% on my own, and I have a few simple questions...

how are resistors rated?

like a 10 ohm and a 10K ohm, my guess is that the higher the number, the finer the tuning, but less the voltage can adjust?

like a 20K variable resistor is for a Vdimm mod, but a 20 ohm resistor would just fry it?

just guessing...

what does "15 turn" pot mean?

How do you test a Pot, for max resistance before putting it on a volt mod?

more questions come later.
I am just learning, I can do the basics, but I need alot of help. ;)

Dissolved
10-20-2003, 07:13 PM
maybe you should just pay me to voltmod your stuff :D

sandman
10-20-2003, 07:23 PM
I think the ohm rating is how much resistance it gives.

Like a 10K ohm resister will resist a thousand times as much as a 10ohm resistor.

That is why it would fry, because it lets too much voltage through the line.

Or, that's how I got it anyway.

G H Z
10-20-2003, 09:49 PM
Originally posted by Kunaak
I am trying to learn how to do mods 100% on my own, and I have a few simple questions...

how are resistors rated?

like a 10 ohm and a 10K ohm, my guess is that the higher the number, the finer the tuning, but less the voltage can adjust?

like a 20K variable resistor is for a Vdimm mod, but a 20 ohm resistor would just fry it?

just guessing...

what does "15 turn" pot mean?

How do you test a Pot, for max resistance before putting it on a volt mod?

more questions come later.
I am just learning, I can do the basics, but I need alot of help. ;)

A vr is also known as a Potentiometer. You also see fixed resistors being used that are not capable of changing Ohms rating.

A 10 Ohm is exactly that, 10 ohms of resistance. The 10K is 10,000 Ohms of resistance. Big difference.