PDA

View Full Version : First time Nvidia Ti4200 user please help me a bit guys!



Malecky
08-01-2002, 11:50 AM
I will start to give something back to the 3Dworld by benchin for the best team ever:cool:

OK, I got my Abit siluro Ti4200 and the first hour I got it I clocked it to 300/635 with stock cooling, next stop is a voltmod and then WC and pelt or phase change dont know yet. Right now I have a lot of coolin problems and cant unlock my XP becouse I dont have any defogger.

I can score 11500 3Dmarks easy but my first problem is that the nature test is behaving a bit funny at 50 fps the picture is still not fluid, actuly its freezing for a bit and my fps plummit too so the test is beeing done at 25-65fps wich is not cool.

My second Q is short: Which drivers should I use?

And other tweaks please, SW tweaks considering the GF4 I know how to tweak the sys just tge GFX are out of my league help? :)


Well I didnt ask much but will in the coarse of my ti4200 benchin adventure..


:toast: boyzzz:D

Creative
08-01-2002, 08:07 PM
I just sold my Gainy Ti4600 and are picking up a Triplex Ti4200 today. Ill be watching this thread also..:)

Try the new 30.82 drivers. They were best for my ti4600...even better than 29.42...:)

Malecky
08-02-2002, 12:11 AM
Originally posted by Creative
I just sold my Gainy Ti4600 and are picking up a Triplex Ti4200 today. Ill be watching this thread also..:)

Try the new 30.82 drivers. They were best for my ti4600...even better than 29.42...:)

Thats what I wanted a very informative Ti4200 thread.

Should I use detonator destroyer for the uninstall of the 29.42s?

Sold a 4600 bought a 4200....makes sense to me:banana:

Venomous
08-02-2002, 12:41 AM
hey guys what's up? i was wonderin how in the heck are ya'll oc'in ya'll 4200's so high??? i have a golden orb cpu fan on my visiontek plus a blower pullin out the heat but my max is only 315/550 how are ya'll getting higher mem clocks without vmods???

Malecky
08-02-2002, 01:23 AM
Originally posted by Venomous
hey guys what's up? i was wonderin how in the heck are ya'll oc'in ya'll 4200's so high??? i have a golden orb cpu fan on my visiontek plus a blower pullin out the heat but my max is only 315/550 how are ya'll getting higher mem clocks without vmods???

We have Hynix 4ns ram on our Siluros which ROCK!!!!!

I am at 315/640 still stock!!!! I got soooo lucky with my ram!!!!

N8
08-02-2002, 06:40 AM
Yea, this 4ns Hynix seems to clock just as well as the 3.6ns on the MSI card.....I can't explain it.....hell, I sold my Gainward which had 3.5ns EtronTech and it would only hit 580MHz on the memory, and bought this Abit which runs 641MHz on the memory....no cooling, minor artifacting. :)

Malecky
08-02-2002, 06:48 AM
OK, broke the 12K mark, still stock with a bad 1700+ and a Volcano 7...

12500 will still be very easy, for the 13K I will have to put some work in it:)

Venomous
08-02-2002, 10:26 AM
im slowing workin my way to 7k in 3dmark with my 4200 ... im only on a 1gig cpu so don't laugh at my petite score :( anyways i was wondering if anybody knew how i could squeez a few more points outta my computer.... im on 1 gig duron... 256 ddr mem... visiontek 4200 with a cpu fan on it .... clock speeds are 310/550 if i raise my core to 315 i get hard crashes... anybody got any advice im runnin all the current drivers and got the geforce 4 set at best performance.

Creative
08-02-2002, 08:34 PM
310/620 was my stable with default cooling.

I have taken off the heatsink and it wasnt even touching the core!!!???? The core seems to be concave so I lapped the gpu a little and are trying my waterblock on it to get some better results. It still seems a little concave and not touching the whole block when I put it back on so not too happy but Ill see how it goes...:)

I tested by upping the core and leaving mem default and then leaving mem default and upping the core. 315 gave hard locks and 630 lowered my score from 620 so I put her back to 620.

I have just taken off the ramsinks and applied some epoxy to them, I forgot to lap them so I prob wont get optimal speeds on the ram, cos I think they did need lapping but I forgot...:(
ehhehe

I was getting infinite loop errors when clocking the core to 315....would this be the drivers? 30.82 or the actual system? Im going to try the 29.42 and see if I have any better luck.

Overall, pretty happy cos its just a fill in card till the new radeon arrives :D

Keep yas posted :)

Malecky
08-04-2002, 10:33 AM
What do you guys enable/disable in the drivers themself? What gives the bigest boost in performance?

I never tweaked a Nvidia card before, the R8500 was quite easy.

Pimp!
08-04-2002, 10:37 AM
Originally posted by Malecky


We have Hynix 4ns ram on our Siluros which ROCK!!!!!

I am at 315/640 still stock!!!! I got soooo lucky with my ram!!!!

damn, i can only push my ti4400 to 311/666, u got damned lucky ;)

Creative
08-04-2002, 08:58 PM
Originally posted by Malecky
What do you guys enable/disable in the drivers themself? What gives the bigest boost in performance?

I never tweaked a Nvidia card before, the R8500 was quite easy.

There is good guide at the top of this forum writen by mackanz here (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1279) I use most of the tweaks of it and some that i have found around the traps over the time...:)

If you have any specific question then pls post them here or PM me and I will be happy to answer any you have dood...:)

I have my Ti4200 safely at 330/650 now and Im No.3 below 2800, No.3 below 2600 and No.3 below 3100. :):)

:mad: Bloody RDRAM :mad:
hehehehe

KAIN
08-05-2002, 02:32 AM
Unfortunatley I am on Holiday for a week... but I've modded my TI4200 with Ramsinks and Waterblock. It will now do 340/670ish (tested use Slow CPU)

So I'll see if I can break 15k when I get home next week... :D

N8
08-05-2002, 04:39 AM
KAIN,

Well-earned vacation ;)

Look fwd to you reaching your new goal when u get back :)

KAIN
08-05-2002, 05:54 AM
I should hopefully do it...

Got some new RDRam to try as well... this stuff should be stabler than my old stuff (Old PC800A (128/4) New PC800 (128/8))

See if I can get 3.1gig ;)