PDA

View Full Version : Laing DDC Questions.

Zebo
10-18-2008, 07:56 AM
I've been using a Eheim 1046 for 6 years now and just want to make more room in case. I thought about the Laing DDC because it's flat and I could put it in a bay. Also running off DC is a big bonus. I just have a couple questions before I give up my silent Ehiem.

1. Is the Laing DDC silent?

2. Is the Laing DDC submersible?

3. What function do the mod Laing DDC tops serve?
http://www.xspc.biz/ddctopbig.jpg

Snyxxx
10-18-2008, 08:44 AM
1. Yes, I think they are quiet. Need to isolate case vibrations though.
2. No.
3. Allow users to use what ever barb sizes they want instead of the molded 1/4" barbs that are stock.

Bobly
10-18-2008, 08:48 AM
While I haven't actually had mine running yet from what I understand here's the general consensus:
-Silent? If vibrations are dampened then you should barely hear them.
-Submersible? I know the DDC + XSPC top isn't, I would assume the DDC isn't either.
-Mod tops offer better performance by adjusting the path the water takes to get to the rotor.

voigts
10-18-2008, 08:50 AM
1. I have been running a DDC-1 (now the DDC3.1 or MCP350) for 1.5 years and it is very quiet provided you isolate the pump vibration with foam or something. I have my pump on memory foam with a small fan blowing on the bottom of the pump. The bottom of these pumps need to at least be open to air.

3. The barbs molded into the stock tops are 3/8", not 1/4". Since many people prefer using 1/2" metal barbs, the aftermarket pump tops allow for using any G1/4" threaded barbs. They also greatly increase the performance output of these pumps over just the stock top.

NaeKuh
10-18-2008, 08:54 AM
http://www.martinsliquidlab.com/DDC31PumpTopTesting.html

Zebo
10-18-2008, 06:33 PM