PDA

View Full Version : BIOS-update without flashing bootblock



LordIT
10-17-2008, 02:57 AM
I flashed in DOS - had that three files on floppy:
http://www.abload.de/img/floppyos3.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=floppyos3.jpg)


I edited the autoexec.bat. The command " /sb " says that the bootblock wìll not be flashed:
http://www.abload.de/img/autoexeckmx.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=autoexeckmx.jpg)


I booted with a floppy start up disk to DOS and put in the floppy for BIOS- update.
Then I typed autoexec and pressed the “enter” button. Now we can see what happened (My screen was a bit dusty, sorry! :D)
http://www.abload.de/img/flash1uhv.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=flash1uhv.jpg)


In the first run awdflash was checking the BIOS file:
http://www.abload.de/img/flash2wwf.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=flash2wwf.jpg)


In the second run awdflash was flashing the new BIOS file into the chip:
We can see that the bootblock was not updated:
http://www.abload.de/img/flash3yk4.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=flash3yk4.jpg)


That is the message for flashing succesfully. In addition there are beeps (4 or 5 short and 1 long one):
http://www.abload.de/img/flash4suv.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=flash4suv.jpg)


Now I removed the floppy and pressed F1.
Sometimes the reset works but sometimes the screen is black. If the screen is black I will turn off the computer completely and restart again. That`s all. I have never had problems. :)


There is an option to flash without bootblock in LiveUpdate, too:
http://www.abload.de/img/liveupdateoil.jpg (http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=liveupdateoil.jpg)


Questions:
1. Why doesnt reset work after DOS flashing sometimes?
2. Are the information to boot the computer really in the bootblock and does it work in case I turn off the computer during flashing (I don`t want to test it :D)
3. Imagine I flashed a wrong mod BIOS without bootblock into the BIOS- Chip. Ihe update failed because the mod BIOS is incorrect. Can I boot my computer to flash again?

saaya
10-18-2008, 01:42 AM
wow, very nice guide! :toast:

1) never experienced this, no idea... :confused: ill check with the BIOS engineers...
2) not sure, ill check
3) not sure, ill check

LordIT
10-18-2008, 03:01 AM
Thanks for compliment, saaya. :)
Yes, only the engineers could know it. Would be great if the boot up information is in that one block. :up: