PDA

View Full Version : You just can't have it all.

Soulburner
10-10-2008, 03:34 PM
Some people expect too much. Here is an example I found today.

Hey all, n00b here, not a pro photographer or even a junkie. I'm just trying to decide between four consumer-level point-and-shoot cameras:

* Canon PowerShot G9
* Canon PowerShot G10
* Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ5
* Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3

Since I'm not a pro, I don't give a hoot about having a place to mount an external flash or lens, or "RAW" mode, or excess manual controls, or any of that. All I care is that:

(1) It has the classic "Rangefinder" look
(2) It's compact, or very close to it -- no wooly mammoth dSLR cameras
(3) It takes very high-quality images, at all light levels and all zoom ranges
(4) It takes very high-quality movies with VERY high-quality audio

Please, no suggestions of other makes or models -- I'm only interested in the four mentioned above.

Thanks!
I'm sorry but you're going to have to lower your expectations back down to 2008 Earth levels. What you are asking here is just simply impossible and highly unrealistic.

itznfb
10-10-2008, 03:54 PM
why is it so unrealistic? i don't know what a "range finder" look means but have you ever used the PowerShot SD870 IS? pretty much has it all.

[XC] Lead Head
10-10-2008, 04:18 PM
A camera the size of a rangefinder is something very thin, like your typical point and shoot that you can stuff in your pocket

Personally for what hes asking, I think a PowerShot S5 would work quite well, but that is a lot bigger then what hes looking for

Soulburner
10-10-2008, 05:48 PM
Read his 4 requirements - then read the comment "Please, no suggestions of other makes or models -- I'm only interested in the four mentioned above."