PDA

View Full Version : Edge of Madness? e6750 air torture

rydberg666
10-08-2008, 06:05 AM
Hello all!

Warning, lots of yadayada in top, data at the bottom. ;)

First of all, i am new at this OC thing, BUT, i am perfectly capable of reading/researching/understanding things. :)
Have been fiddling with computers since ZX Spectrum, heh, dear old rubberkeyed speccy.

Anyhow, felt the urge to try out OCing since that is one of the few things i didnt try yet, well, with computers that is...
For the last couple of weeks ive been reading up like a madman any chance i got, fingers itching more and more every day.
Found some nice used parts from some neat Swedish OC sites, so about 450 Euros later it was alive!

First cpu i put in was a a Celeron 420 @ 1.6Ghz, hehe, didnt take all that long to push over 3Ghz, a proud moment for me, my first OC.
ran off to that same swedish OC forum, shared my joy, to be met by both "Validation? Oo" and grats for my OC.
Weird that, i do this for my own amusement, and to learn, not to prove anything. (Perhaps to myself)
Dug up the screens, posted them, heard no more from the validation guy, really strange....

Is this common for the OC communities?
Well nevermind, people around here seem nice from what i have read so far. :)

The thing i wonder over is this, is going above 3,88 on air for my e6750 on the edge of madness?
What are the real "risks" in pushing furher, not for 24/7, but for a, say 24hour Orthos run or eq.
Got one advice from a respected swedish person to push for 1.6 - 1.65 on "good" air.
He was running on TRUE with Delta fans, dont know how much diff. it is from my Tuniq.

I never felt like temps where the problem, at least not if i stay away from IntelBurn. :)
Temps after 24 Orthos with below settings showed a max of 60c but normally stayed at 56-58 according to realtemp.

The one time i tried for fun at FSB 500 i ended up with some funny Bios Checksum error after C1/54/75 issues.

Settings below.

Quantum Bios