PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on the Sigma DP1?

hoax
10-07-2008, 07:55 PM
Hey guys, I need some help here.

Just to put things in perspective a bit... I used to work as a professional photographer (about 10 years ago), my last decent camera was a Canon EOS-1N RS. I also had the EOS-A2E and a bunch of nice lenses.. but thats all in the past and I sold it all long ago.

Anyway, nowdays I am a very sad owner of a Canon Powershot SD300. I mean it sure beats having no camera at all, but its a little old and I am looking for something with a bit more options, without having to go back to SLR's.

I don't use a camera a lot nowdays by any means. I just use it to make macro shots of hardware, and sometimes I use it to create textures. I won't be doing portraits or action shots, I would love to just have the best color/image quality I can get. I don't really care about image size at all, quality/color are much more important then the final image size for my needs.

I saw the Sigma DP1 review from www.dpreview.com... and if only it had a macro mode, it would be my new camera, no doubt. But it doesn't, only available option would be using something like http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/563688-REG/Sigma_AM1900_AML_1_CLOSE_UP_LENS.html

Would that be a stupid idea for making close up shots of hardware? Any recommendations for other cameras I should look at?

Thanks for reading, any help is really appreciated.

MaxxxRacer
10-07-2008, 08:50 PM
wow. I never noticed that camera before. Aft first glance it looks like a nice camera, but after reading the review I wouldnt touch it. Just stick with one of the newer powershots and make sure it has a good macro mode. we use the SD1000's at work and they work pretty good for taken shots of motherboards, so one of the newer models should be perfect

hoax
10-07-2008, 09:23 PM
thanks a lot for the (fast) reply Max :up::up:

that list of cons is just too long isn't it :ROTF: