PDA

View Full Version : A little noob qn on the EK DDC top....

Jiangxue
09-27-2008, 12:36 AM
Well I've been reading a lot about acrylic parts failing lately, and since I'm a noob I've decided to play safe and order EK acetal tops for my DDCs instead of acrylic ones. :p:

The question I have is.... which is the correct EK ddc top to order? I notice there are G1/4 and G3/8 ones, and they both can use custom fittings. I have 2 pcs to be watercooled... one using 1/2" barbs and one using 3/8 barbs.

Any help/advice is much appreciated.... thanks in advance! :D

Jaivan
09-27-2008, 12:41 AM
I think you should get the G1/4 threaded ones since there is a larger selection of G1/4 barbs.
Also the G1/4 barbs come in both 1/2'' and 3/8'' flavors.

dopestuff
09-27-2008, 12:41 AM
pretty much all fitings these days have 1/4 thread
and for what top to choose i think there are some pump top shootouts round here ;)

Jiangxue
09-27-2008, 01:12 AM
Okay! I see! Thanks guys! G1/4 it is.... :D

I did read on the different pump tops on martin's site and saw that the XSPC is the main "winner" but its acrylic and the recent spate of reports on failures of acrylic/xspc qc just freaks me... since mine is gonna be an international order all the way from Singapore I want it as fuss free as possible. :D

TI66ER
09-27-2008, 03:54 AM
Just got an xspc acrylic top for my pump,which is the pump section from a apogee drive,modded to a 355 pump with an xspc top on it.I am amazed how fast the flow is with this top on,even though it is going through my apogee gt cpu block and radiator.

IanY
09-27-2008, 03:58 AM
There is nothing wrong with the (3) XSPC Acrylic Reservoir tops or (1) XSPC Acrylic Top that I own...:up:

The problem was with the threading awhile back. It was nothing more than a bad batch. Wow, people sure do go overboard here sometimes...

You obviously haven't joined the bash-acrylic campaign. :p:

IanY
09-27-2008, 04:03 AM