PDA

View Full Version : 1st Time Water-Cooling User

ACE76
09-11-2008, 03:50 PM
As the title says, I'm about to build my first water-cooling set-up. I was hoping people here could help me do a parts list that I could use as a reference when ordering everything.

I was going to order the Swiftech Apex Ultra kit to get me started since I'm a noob at this but feel free to give me suggestions. The only thing I was going to order separately was the new Swiftech GTZ CPU block to use instead of the one that comes with the kit. Is this kit a 1/2 ID kit or 3/8? From the descriptions, I can't tell. I'm also going to use Fesser One coolant since I don't want to go with the stock green the kit comes with.

I plan on putting all this into a new Coolermaster Cosmos 1100 case which is already good for a triple rad on top...I will obviously only using a 240mm rad for now but it's good to know this case has the space to upgrade already built in. Please give me any suggestions or warnings before I embark on this new cooling that I've never done before. I'm also considering the Silverstone TJ-10 which would require a bracket to fit a 240mm rad up top. Below are the PC parts I'm using:

Mobo - Asus Rampage Extreme
CPU - Q9650 & QX9770
Video - 4870X2 (Crossfire down the road)
Memory - OCZ DDR3-2000 Flex II 2gb kit
HD - 2 Velociraptors for RAID-0 lovin!

sirheck
09-11-2008, 03:57 PM
I do believe you can choose which size barbs you want.
The kit you ordered should come with both 3/8 and 1/2 inch barbs.
They will probably be black plastic but will work fine.

Now cooling a quad cpu and the 4870 x2 maybe too much for
a single 240mm radiator.

ACE76
09-11-2008, 05:51 PM
I do believe you can choose which size barbs you want.
The kit you ordered should come with both 3/8 and 1/2 inch barbs.
They will probably be black plastic but will work fine.

Now cooling a quad cpu and the 4870 x2 maybe too much for
a single 240mm radiator.