PDA

View Full Version : Ok, I'd like to dive into TEC, but I'm new to it...

TheWeaseL
09-30-2003, 12:57 PM
Well, I'd like to TEC my cpu, see how much more it has in it, and I understand how to insulate and everything around the cpu to keep condenstation away, I need a dedicate psu, etc. But I'm wondering if I can use my current water cooling setup to cool it. Right now I have my cpu, gpu, and nb in a water circut, and I was wondering if I could get say the swifty waterblock/226watt pelt combo, and use it in my current water cooling circut, or would it needs it own? If I could use it in the current one, I think what I would do, is put the GPU first, NB second, and then the cpu third...

eXtenz
10-01-2003, 01:13 AM
Well depends on what kinda water cooling you got now, and just from experience i would go to CPU first cause you want the coldest water hitting the peltier so the cold side is colder, if you use heated water the peltiers cold side will be hotter (not above freezeing but not the lowest it would be)

thus we need to know what your watercooling equipment consist of to answer your question

Colin
10-01-2003, 05:46 AM
How many radiators do you have in your loop? That 226W TEC will seriously pump a lot of heat into the water, I needed used two BIX's with 130CFM Delta's and my water still got to past 40 degrees after a few hours. Something you might want to consider as well is, if your water does get substantially hotter (and I think it will) you may see decreases in your motherboard and videocard OC's...

eXtenz
10-01-2003, 05:55 AM