PDA

View Full Version : Cost for entry level setup

Rise
08-13-2008, 07:49 AM
Hi,

I recently put together my new quad-core rig which is only air-cooled at the moment. Running at stock speeds Q9450 @ 2.66ghz on my P5Q Deluxe I have seen temps as high as 70C :eek:

I'd like to bring that down as much as possible with some sort of liquid cooling system. I'm familiar with how they work and I'm a hands-on mechanical engineer for a living so I don't expect much trouble putting it together (read: don't want a kit). What I don't really know are what components are the best for the money and how much a fairly basic but effective setup will cost. If you guys could recommend a setup from top to bottom that would be awesome, but just a cost estimate and where to go is a good starting point for me.

Also, where can I buy this stuff being located in the US? A lot of sites I've found are based in the UK or Europe somewhere.

Thanks!

IanY
08-13-2008, 07:52 AM
www.petrastechshop.com
www.performance-pcs.com <- South Florida
www.jab-tech.com
www.sidewindercomputers.com
www.frozencpu.com <- Western NY State
www.ncixus.com

The rest are either west coast or in the south/mid-west. I see that you live in taxachusetts.

WoZZeR999
08-13-2008, 08:01 AM
For a basic setup, you'll need
Rad -> $50-75 (I recommend a MCR320)
Pump -> $50-100 (I use D5's, the 3.2's with a top work well from what I've heard)
CPU Block -> ~$60 (Fuzion, EK Supreme, there is a new Swiftech block, no work on performance yet)
Tubing -> ~$10, as low as $.99 a foot/ up to $4 or $5/foot.
Res -> Optional $20-$40 (Use a t-line if you don't want a res)
Fittings -> $2-3 per, you'll need 6-10 depending on setup
Clamps -> ~$1 per, you'll need one for each fitting
Fans -> $5-20 per fan. You'll want to research fans before purchasing

For Fans, I use Yate Loons, they are cheap and very effective. Scythe Ultra Kaze's are $10, Sanyo's 109R1212H1011 are $20-30 per fan, If you can find them.