PDA

View Full Version : Canon Zoom Lens

James_8970
08-08-2008, 06:40 PM
I know this is a Nikon bias board, but I figured I'd ask.
I'm looking for a zoom, multipurpose lens, but don't want to sacrifice much quality. I'm going a little on the cheap (~$400 budget) as I'm just getting into the hobby of photography. I just came across this lens, what do you guys think?
Sigma 28-300mm F/3.5-6.3 DG

Would the Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 II USM Lens be better?

Does anyone else have a better suggestion? Once I figure out how to use a 50mm lens on the other side of my lens for macro capability (anyone have a good tutorial?), I'd like to do that as well. I'm assuming I need two lens' with the same size diameter to achieve this. Am I correct to assume this?
James

Edit: BTW I have a XTi camera.

Nate P.
08-08-2008, 06:52 PM
I'm a Canon shooter, and I recommend the Canon EF 28-135mm F/3.5-5.6 IS. It's a great cheap lens, has a good zoom range, and should get your started. I haven't had experience with the Sigma 28-300mm or the 75-300mm, but I have used the 28-135mm and I highly recommend it (especially for the price)!

James_8970
08-08-2008, 08:27 PM
Yeah, but I don't think that lens will have enough of a zoom on it.
I'm going to be working on a farm shortly for two weeks, so I want a good lens to take some pictures of the enviroment. I'm also investing into a polarizing lens.
The Sigma lens I mentioned also seems to have wide angle purposes. I'm not looking for anything specilized at this time, just hoping to find a general purpose lens that I could also use for macro photography (put a 50mm on the other end). I'm going to look at the lens you mentioned, but anyone have a suggestion for a lens that has a maximum magnification of 250mm or 300mm that retails for ~400$ or less?
James

Nate P.
08-08-2008, 08:46 PM