PDA

View Full Version : What to get for a Skulltrail system? [newb here]

Jennifer26
07-08-2008, 05:52 AM
Ok just to start off.. I have no experience whatsoever in watercooling and all that.. I have looked into it but have never really tried..

Ok so the problem is I just finished building my new system and the temps are fairly high as far as I can see both cpu´s are stated to run at around 55-57c according to Lavalys, and the gfx at about +67c which is hot i guess.. I was thinking if it has to do with my case+coolers+added thermalpaste and whatever. So I tried reapplying thermalpaste and so on several times to see if it had any difference but nope.. It's still running hot overall and if I close the lid of my case the thing just starts to cook really fast.. 60c+ temps

Anyways it doesn't really seem like this aircooling thing is working out so I was wondering if there is any possible way to (easily) add watercooling to just the two cpu's? I guess this would greatly reduce the noise generated from the two Zalmans and overall make the case run cooler and more silent. I have no current experience in watercooling so I don't know if it would work out or not, but it seems like the only and best solution?

I don't really care how much it costs the only requirements I have is that It will make my temps drop significantly and that the noise level will be reduced DRASTICALLY.. Those two Zalmans are getting to my head despite how good they look it's just getting annoying now.

So if anyone can recommend something that will reduce noise/temps and which is fairly possible to install and maintain I would be all over it..

anyways these are my specs:
Akasa Mirage-62
Intel D5400XS mobo
2x Xeon E5420 cpu's
Corsair HX1000W psu
4GB kingston ValueRam 800MHz DDR2 ECC Fully Buffered CL5 KVR800D2D4F5K2/4G
Sparkle 8800GT
2x Zalman CNPS 9700 NT

IanY
07-08-2008, 06:00 AM