PDA

View Full Version : is too much studying bad?

tdunks
06-16-2008, 02:07 PM
Is studying too much (8 hrs+ a day) for exams for a week and a half for 3 highschool exams bad for you? If it is can anyone find studies backing this? Thanks!

Frisch
06-16-2008, 02:33 PM
It's a "bit" complicated subject, and the answer is both yes and no.

Your brain is absorbing much more energy than your muscles.

Noob-ftw
06-16-2008, 02:41 PM
I'm pumping out about 6 hours a day for the past few days for my University level Calculus, Physics and Religion courses. I'm studying a lot so I can maintain my scholarship at Carleton for engineering next year.

Anyways, I recommend taking 20 minute breaks in between your sessions, and remember to review, not learn. You should have learned all your stuff throughout the semester, so just do some of the homework problems and redo all your tests and you should be fine.

My last exam starts at 11:45AM on Friday :shakes:

Good luck!

Xel'Naga
06-17-2008, 12:26 AM
I'm and EECS major. One more year to go. I have about 8 EE/CS and 2-3 other school electives PER SEMESTER.
So you imagine that I spend more than 12h/day studying, get very little sleep and I've spend more than 30h working non-stop, at times.
During my finals I spent a week with less than 3-4h/day of sleep and only leaving my room to go to the exams(8 of them in 1 week:D).

Is this bad for me? YES!!
Symptoms:
1. I'm ALWAYS extreamly tired. At any time of day I can go to bed and sleep for 20+h if I don't set my alarm clock
2. Various health problems, hair loss, hemmoroids during mids and finals (I'm 21, by the way...)

You might wonder if it's worth it. For me, YES.