PDA

View Full Version : Crayon Waterblock (No kidding, Lost wax casting a block the hard way...)

Kayin
06-12-2008, 08:41 PM
Beware, I'm a professional. Don't try this at home.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v310/KayinStorm/044-3.jpg

Raw materials...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v310/KayinStorm/047-2.jpg

NOT chocolate...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v310/KayinStorm/045-2.jpg

handy dandy mold/mold release agent

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v310/KayinStorm/050-1.jpg

and poured, ready to cool and start phase 2.

Making a blank for the carved wax prototype...

iandh
06-12-2008, 08:44 PM
He's taken matters into his own hands folks. :p:

Kayin
06-12-2008, 08:46 PM
You tempted me into it. Remember?

iandh
06-12-2008, 09:06 PM
I can always be found lurking somewhere on the fringe of activities like this. :shrug:

Kayin
06-12-2008, 09:08 PM
Any progress on your end?

I got a really fun trick to try if this works...

CyberDruid
06-12-2008, 09:22 PM
hmmmmmm

Knight
06-12-2008, 09:28 PM
No candle wax? Adds a nice scent to the block. :p:

Or is the Crayon stuff somehow different and will yield a better result?

septim
06-13-2008, 02:23 AM
put some potpourri in it too? hehe. any results to your cooking yet? hehe...

MomijiTMO
06-13-2008, 02:38 AM
The funky stuff on the stove is giving me nightmares. Mummy!

Kayin
06-13-2008, 05:34 AM
Candle wax is softer. Crayon wax can be machined if necessary to giv e the proper lines, etc.

There are wax blanks for testing CNC machines that are made of much the same stuff, just blue. This one is a :banana::banana::banana::banana::banana: to get out. I'm gonna swear at it more.

[XC] Hicks121
06-13-2008, 05:58 AM
LoL, give it hell Kayin :up:

oerekum
06-13-2008, 06:52 AM
Well, I guess you won't need water dye with this block..

Movieman
06-13-2008, 06:58 AM
Excellent to see. Lost wax method of making molds is older than I can think of and works..to an extent.