PDA

View Full Version : Non-mac keyboard problem



[XC] Synthetickiller
04-15-2008, 04:09 PM
My boss has a new imac and bought a new ibm keyboard for it:

http://www.buy.com/prod/lenovo-ultranav-keyboard-type-a-usb/q/loc/101/202378638.html

The keyboard does not have a windows key. Because of this, he doesn't have a command key. Is there any way to program the function of this key to another key? The option and alt key work fine.

I have no idea how to fix this problem since I'm a windows user, but I figured you guys might know. The internet has failed me so far in my search.

Vapor
04-15-2008, 05:35 PM
Not a lot of flexibility, but here's what's there....

System Preferences ->

Keyboard & Mouse ->

Keyboard tab ->

Modifier keys (bottom left) ->

http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/7761/picture12ts0.png

Maybe Onyx can do better?




BTW: I have the exact same keyboard (and love it--actually have 2)....when I used it in Tiger, I just swapped CTRL and Command....but with Leopard, CTRL actually has a lot of function--I'd probably ditch Caps Lock? :shrug:

[XC] Synthetickiller
04-15-2008, 05:40 PM
We looked at that.

The command key, although it is listed in the same fashion, is not actually associated with any key. Thats what the problem is. Leopard doesn't know how to deal w/ the Fn (function, an ibm thing) key and doesn't assign it.

I did read about programs that allow you to assign keys, but I've heard nothing but bad things about them.

Vapor
04-15-2008, 05:42 PM
I'd ditch Caps Lock unless he uses it a lot. I know there's only those 4 options to configure however you want :(

[XC] Synthetickiller
04-15-2008, 05:57 PM
I will mention it to him in an email tonight. :up:

I noticed that although there's some programs out there to help re-map the keyboard, not many have had good luck with this option.


If anyone has any experience with using 3rd party programs to re-map keys, let me know, asap.