PDA

View Full Version : KX7 Vmods -> Dead Mobos!?

Goldlocke
07-16-2002, 04:44 AM
Hi there! My first post here at XTremesystems. I followed OPP, MrIcee and DDTung over from Icrontic.

Though I am a newbie here, I am not in overclocking. In the last 3 years IĀ“ve successfully voltmodded every ABIT board I owned(KT7/KT7A/KR7/KX7).

BUT: I wanted to discuss those voltmods and their issues with you. I never hesitated to do all 3 major voltmods to my ABIT boards the 2nd day I got them. I considered them absolutely safe when done carefully (which I had). But there where 2 dead ABITs which made me think.

It had been 1 KR7A-Raid and 1 KX7-333Raid. All 2 boards died the same way!
I had run these boards successfully with all 3 voltmods (VCore, Vmem, Vio) for months without trouble. Then suddenly the next day they would not boot anymore!? I unsoldered the mods - tested - changed RAMs, CPU, etc. They were dead from one day to the next!
Fortunately I could RMA them which is much more complicated here in Austria then in the US.

Hmmmm, so I wonder what was the cause for that:

1. some unusual volt-spike?
2. some faulty voltmod?
3. some bad CWT 420 PFC PSU? (=Antec 420).

What do u think? I used following max. voltages:

VCore ... 2.33V
Vmem ... 3.23V
Vio ... 3.77V

DDTUNG
07-16-2002, 05:12 AM
Welcome to Xtreme!

To have used the voltages you mentioned for Vcore, Vmem,and Vio you must have been running some extreme overclocks. Those voltages were way over spec for the components on the boards, and I am not surprised if some of them failed, leading to the two dead boards that you mentioned. On the KR7 and the KX7 I have not found it necessary to use the Vio mod, which probably saved the day for me.;)

DDTUNG:cool:

Goldlocke
07-16-2002, 05:21 AM
thx, DD for you're quick reply.

I have to add that the voltages I mentioned where the maximum. I usually used:

VCore ... 1.97V
Vmem ... 3.23V
Vio ... 3.70V