PDA

View Full Version : Apple Genius Bar not so smart

ineedaname
02-06-2008, 02:47 PM
So my GF's macbook has been having some problems. I'm not a mac expert but I went online and dled some diagnostic tool so I could test the hdd.

I downloaded a trial version of the latest TechTools 4 Pro. Anyway I did a surface scan and it detected about 10% of the end of the drive had bad sectors. So called up apple and made an appointment @ the Genius Bar to try to get the hdd replaced.

When I get there I tell the guy my problem and he tells me I just need to reformat the drive. Then he runs the apple disk scan utility which says my hdd is fine. He also tells me that TechTools was never made for intel macs and that many people have came in with false positives from their scans.

Not being a mac expert and seeing as how the disk scan utility said my hdd was fine I hesitantly went back home. When I got home I ripped out the hdd from the macbook and stuck it into my computer. I run HD Tune and a few other diag programs and sure enough there are bad sectors on the hard drive.

Thinking back now I can't believe how stupid it was and I should've picked it up when he told me to just reformat the computer. There's NO WAY that the mac disk utility did a surface scan in under 2 minutes. Logically speaking it takes way longer than 2 minutes for the 160GB hdd 2 read every section of the disk. I also double checked and TechTools 4 PRO is made for intel macs.