PDA

View Full Version : Advise on new WC rig please

Pisklink
01-14-2008, 11:43 AM
Hi all XS forum members,

First of all, I'm new to the XS forum and wanted to thank Maxxxracer for getting me registered and activated (he knows what a hassle it was for me to get this fixed). In the meantime I was able to read some threads and stickies and was amazed of the tremendous amount of information that can be found on the XS forum. I think members here can provide me with the answers I'm looking for.

I'm planning to buy a new rig somewhere by the end of February or March. Till then I'm waiting for new hardware to arrive in my country (Netherlands) from Intel and Nvidia. As far as I know the new Penryn chips will be largely available by the time I want to buy my machine as well as the Nvidia 780i chipset. I came up with the following setup and would to hear your comments and advise on rig and WC hardware seperately and combined. I want to spend around the 2000 euro (WC components included).

Computer hardware
- Corsair 750Watt PSU CMPSU-750TXEU
- Coolermaster CM 690 No PSU
- 1 NEC DVD+R/-R/RW AD-7200S S-ATA Zwart
- 2 x Kingston HyperX 2x1024MB DDR2 1066 KHX8500D2K2/2GN
- 2 x Western Digital 500GB S-ATA2 WD5000KS
- 2 x VGA Asus EN8800GT/G/HTDP 512MB PCI-E (depending on mobo)

CPU
I'm still not sure which CPU to buy with regard to overclocking and gaming in the near future, Dual Core or Quad Core and which one. I'm thinking of the following hardware options:

- Intel E8400 3.00GHz 1333 6MB or Intel E8500 3.16GHz 1333
- Intel Q6600 (2,4/1066/2x4MB) or Intel Q9300 2.50GHz FSB1333

When providing arguments to choose a CPU could you possibly give me the best stepping for overclocking that CPU?

Mobo
I only know of XFX having a mobo with 780i chipset. Does someone else have suggestions for a 780i mobo or a different one?

Watercooling hardware