PDA

View Full Version : Q6600 + 8800GT 15k good?



killert
01-04-2008, 11:55 AM
I just got my 8800gt and was wondering if the score was good for the system.

Q6600
Maximus Formula SE
Ballistix Tracers DDR2-1066
Galaxy 8800GT 512mb

The card is at its highest stable for 3D06 :(

ripken204
01-04-2008, 02:28 PM
ya its good but dude, that voltage!

RPGWiZaRD
01-04-2008, 02:33 PM
Score is quite normal for those clocks but is that voltage for real? Hope you only do short benchmarks with that unless it's phase, dice or LN2.

jabski
01-04-2008, 02:53 PM
1.728 :eek:

killert
01-04-2008, 03:37 PM
Real volts, It was under water, my rad was in the window and it was 17F outside

[XC] Synthetickiller
01-04-2008, 06:51 PM
What were your CPU temps w/ your rad in 17 degree conditions? 1.7v is unreal. I'm scared to go above 1.6v. You've got some guts man.

killert
01-04-2008, 09:06 PM
like 35-40C idle Im going to jack up the volts some more later

antari
01-04-2008, 09:14 PM
Not bad at all, this is my best:

http://img529.imageshack.us/img529/7237/16kwc5.png

All air

killert
01-04-2008, 09:26 PM
You got a G0 and a higher clocking GT though ;)

antari
01-04-2008, 09:30 PM
Yup so yours is a pretty good score. I think you should be able to get another 100 or so CPU points at that speed which will get you perhaps 30~50 more 3DMarks.

killert
01-04-2008, 09:36 PM
Waiting for another really cold day, Im going to try to get it at 3.950 with somemore volts

railmeat
01-04-2008, 10:20 PM
i bet that cpu is not stable,and i highly doubt that card at those speeds would be safe for stress free gaming.benchmarks are cool for quickie tests i guess but real world apps,games etc...not a chance in hell.

i wouldnt risk that voltage\clocks for 30 seconds of glory benchmarking other then to impress others for a few screenies of some 3dmarks...nice rig have by the way.

killert
01-05-2008, 09:02 AM
i bet that cpu is not stable,and i highly doubt that card at those speeds would be safe for stress free gaming.benchmarks are cool for quickie testd but real world apps,games etc...not a chance in hell

i wouldnt risk that voltage\clocks for 30 seconds of glory benchmarking other then to impress others for a few screenies of some 3dmarks...

I only have it that high for benchmarks, I wouldnt dare to try to run stable with that voltage

day187
01-05-2008, 09:19 AM
3dmark06 at4GHz 1.56v on Asus Maximus Extreme

Have you tried to lower the voltage any.

http://service.futuremark.com/orb/projectdetails.jsp?projectType=14&projectId=4345610

http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/2020/4ghzhk4.th.jpg (http://img220.imageshack.us/my.php?image=4ghzhk4.jpg)

killert
01-05-2008, 10:17 AM
3dmark06 at4GHz 1.56v on Asus Maximus Extreme

Have you tried to lower the voltage any.

http://service.futuremark.com/orb/projectdetails.jsp?projectType=14&projectId=4345610

http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/2020/4ghzhk4.th.jpg (http://img220.imageshack.us/my.php?image=4ghzhk4.jpg)

Yes I have and it doesnt work, Its a B3, It needs volts

WrigleyVillain
01-05-2008, 12:14 PM
Yes I have and it doesnt work, Its a B3, It needs volts

Yeah you're nuts. Rich parents? :rolleyes: :p:

What the VID on that B3?

killert
01-05-2008, 06:56 PM
Yeah you're nuts. Rich parents? :rolleyes: :p:

What the VID on that B3?

No rich parents

1.325v

killert
01-06-2008, 11:58 AM
Sweet, Just found out that the jumper on my Galaxy 8800GT raises the voltage, I got it to 750mhz core stable now on 3D06

Leeghoofd
01-08-2008, 05:57 AM
Pretty good score mate for a 300 dollar card, here's one with my Q6600@3825 and the GTX at 650/1512/1000... I have to rebench it with lower GPU speed and higher shaders (crashes one mhz more in WinXP Pro64) but not much to gain there I think, QX9650 and GTS512 will be better ... hopefully :p

http://users.pandora.be/OAP/3dmark2006.JPG

I hope my new GTS 512 will beat that score easily

saxovtsmike
01-16-2008, 11:01 AM
hi guys, might be my first or second post..
got myself a new 8800gt 2day (palit sonic + 512) and gave my g0 a bit of juice and I´m quite happy with the result..
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=4730325
Q6600@ 401x9, Ram 1:1 with 4-4-4-12 timings (4x1gig supertalent) @ air (zalman 9700 @ full revs), damn thats loud
Palit 8800GT Sonic+ @ 745gpu,1080mem,1863 shader.
Quite pleased with the result..

Edit: Ahem how to post pics ?

Edit²: Thx for the help, piccie should work

Don_Dan
01-16-2008, 11:38 AM
Edit: Ahem how to post pics ?

Have a look under "Additional Options" below the box where you can write the text, second option is attach files.

BTW: Hallo @ XS! :welcome:

Zeus
01-16-2008, 12:37 PM
Come on guys, it's only a B3 it deserves to die like this :D

Get your card clocks up, 16K should be a piece of cake.

killert
01-26-2008, 09:10 PM
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=4916562

This B3 handles 1.8vcore well

This is the absolute max of the video card :(

The0men
01-26-2008, 10:00 PM
Same score but with a GTX, but also my Q6600 was only@ 3.6ghz.

I'd say its a good result, but perhaps you could get more out of the card, drop your CPU voltage and use 3.8 and tweak memory some, then you should get a bit higher. You might want card on liquid or something, then It may get more.

Harshal
01-26-2008, 10:37 PM
Well I know not fair to compare G0s to B3s.. but here is my score with CPU @ 3735Mhz... everything on AIR.
MSI 8800GT + Q6600 + IP35-Pro

killert
01-27-2008, 08:54 AM
Now I think I need to tweak the ram, I've been running 5-5-5-15, I could probably get away with 4-4-4-12, or run 1:1 @ 3-3-3-8

saxovtsmike
08-18-2008, 09:57 AM
changed the mobo to a rampage formula and faster rams, and i got a nice bump in the score..
all on air, cpu on a noctua nhu12p

Shocker003
08-19-2008, 01:52 AM
Here is mine with an eVGA 320mb 8800GTS. It´s nothting to brag about and it still my best score until i upgrade my card.