PDA

View Full Version : Remounting heatpipes

Raxxath
12-24-2007, 11:47 AM
I'm about to remove the heatpipes on my Asus Blitz Formula and remount them because my temperatures are crappy. I have a few questions though, as I've never done this before...

1. The general consensus seems to be that you should use a hairdryer to heat up the epoxy beneath the northbridge to remove it(since I've already powered up the board). Do I need to do the same for the southbridge, mosfets, and Crosslinx?

2. Should I use a small dab of MX-2 on the chipset, like I would on a processor, or give it more TIM?

3. What's the best way to remount on the mosfets? Should I reuse the stock thermal tape? The mosfets aren't exactly a single flat surface as far as I know, so I'm not sure what to do...

4. If I ever wanted to use aftermarket blocks on the board, what would I do about cooling the Crosslinx chip?

I'm hoping to get this done and have the water cooling in by tonight.

momoceio
12-24-2007, 12:58 PM
Yes, you want to use a small dab of TIM too much TIM is always a bad thing. To remount the mosfets I would use some thermal adhesive paste and mix a little TIM in with it so the bond isn't TOO strong (in case you need to take them off)

Raxxath
12-24-2007, 01:11 PM
Yes, you want to use a small dab of TIM too much TIM is always a bad thing. To remount the mosfets I would use some thermal adhesive paste and mix a little TIM in with it so the bond isn't TOO strong (in case you need to take them off)

Why thermal adhesive for the mosfets? They do seem to have mounting clips, so I don't think there is any danger of the heatsinks falling off.

momoceio
12-24-2007, 01:15 PM
Didn't realize they had mounting clips. If the mosfets aren't all the same height then you'll want to use thermal tape on the ones that sit lower or just buy some individual ram sinks for them.

Nate P.
12-24-2007, 01:16 PM