PDA

View Full Version : What the best program for handling pic's??

disruptfam
11-25-2007, 05:37 PM
I'm in need for a picture handling app...

I have no experience in these matter so any help is appreciated...

I only one i know of is Photoshop...But there's several i wouldn't know which one to purchase...

Any suggestions?

are they any other decent app's around that won't break the bank??

cheers!! :up:

Soulburner
11-25-2007, 07:03 PM
Photoshop CS3, followed by CS2, followed by CS, followed by...well you get the idea.

There are cheaper alternatives but I don't have much experience with them...narrow minded I know, but hey it's hard enough keeping up with all the other aspects of technology day to day, I'll stick with what I know.

Magnj
11-25-2007, 07:05 PM
Photoshop is for photo-editing. If your looking for a way to organize your photos your going to want to look into Lightroom, especially if your shooting RAW. Also check out Picassa

Scubar
11-25-2007, 07:46 PM
xnview is currently the best picture viewing application , for photo editing though photoshop wins hands down.

Vapor
11-25-2007, 07:55 PM
Loving Lightroom....great workflow and RAW handling (ACR built in).

disruptfam
11-25-2007, 08:28 PM
how much am i looking @ with cs3 or lightroom?

:)

shazza
11-25-2007, 08:46 PM
Adobe Photoshop Elements is a good place to start ... it has plenty of juice for beginners, and is good training for Photoshop CS3.

Nate P.
11-25-2007, 08:59 PM
GIMP for photo editing (basically an open-source version of PhotoShop) and Picasa for photo organizing. That's what I use.

disruptfam
11-26-2007, 07:30 AM
i downloaded gimp the other day.... don't know how to use it yet... haven't any time to play around with it...

Magnj
11-26-2007, 10:21 AM
Lightroom is 300 and elements is 150 @ adobe. You can probably find it cheaper though.

deepsilver
11-26-2007, 10:22 AM
Photoshop for the last finish and ACD-See Pro 2 for ordering the pictures. :)

Fujimitsu
11-26-2007, 01:05 PM