PDA

View Full Version : Help with over clocking a Athlon 64!

CowGuy
11-11-2007, 08:49 AM
I'm pretty new to over clocking. I recently started to overclock my cpu, In the bios it says that my CPU is running a 2970Mhz. But windows only says 2.2Ghz. Anyone know why this would be happening? Windows used to recognise it when I had it overclocked to 2.4Ghz, but once I go over that it thinks it is overclocked to 2.2Ghz.

stealth
11-11-2007, 11:47 AM
If the rig in your signature is the one you try to overclock then i think.......you post in the wrong forun:).

stealth

CowGuy
11-11-2007, 03:11 PM
If the rig in your signature is the one you try to overclock then i think.......you post in the wrong forun:).

stealth

I had a feeling someone would say that. That's my new rig, this is my old one I'm working on.

funnyperson1
11-11-2007, 03:17 PM
Windows is usually pretty good at reading the clock speed at boot up. Can you download CPU-Z and tell us what it says.

The specs of the rig you are trying to oc would help too.

CowGuy
11-11-2007, 04:02 PM
Here you go http://gmodmagazine.com/specs.JPG
My specs are
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3700+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.2GHz
Memory: 2048MB RAM
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6800 XT 256mb

I can get a shot of my bios too if you would like.

zanzabar
11-11-2007, 04:17 PM
do u have cool adn quiet enabled and what dose cpu-z say

64dragon
11-11-2007, 05:13 PM
post a pic of bios, i'd assume that cpuz is reading correctly and according to you pic your basically running stock. are you running mac os or is that a mac theme for xp?

i agree with zanzabar, it cool and quiet is enabled it will cancel out the OC

CowGuy
11-11-2007, 05:57 PM
I'm running windows.
Here are the pics
www.gmodmagazine.com/bio1.JPG
www.gmodmagazine.com/bio2.JPG
www.gmodmagazine.com/bios.JPG

stealth
11-12-2007, 02:02 AM
I had a feeling someone would say that. That's my new rig, this is my old one I'm working on.