PDA

View Full Version : Build computer on table temporarily?

Shwick
08-13-2007, 12:47 PM
I plan on buying a Centurion 5 case with my new comp but it doesn't have a removable motherboard tray.

When I first build my comp I want to do a quick performance test to make sure everything is working, then mod my case.

Could I just build the computer on a table, as it would save me installing/removing it from the case?

I heard that motherboard screws ground the motherboard relieving stress from the PSU ground, but if I build it on a table it won't have those screws in... Motherboard is a Gigabyte-GA-965P-DS3.

Bail_w
08-13-2007, 12:50 PM
put it on top of the motherboard box, but the table is fine.

palese
08-13-2007, 02:26 PM
I have been running outside a case for over two years now, who needs a stinking case:yepp:

CyberDruid
08-13-2007, 02:28 PM
Agreed...

Oh wait! I'm a case modder--what am I saying...

Yes you need a case--a very expensive case...let me hook you up...

Shwick
08-13-2007, 02:40 PM
Thanks i'll just leave the motherboard on antistatic foam that comes with the case, prolly with screws in so that screws are the only point of contact.

kevinbo03
08-13-2007, 05:47 PM
Ive been doing it for a few months, I just put the Mobo tray's standoff screws on, So the Mobo isn't touching the surface.

The only thing you have to be careful with is PCI/PCI-X cards. When you try to plug or unplug something, They can move, And make the system crash.

StealthyFish
08-13-2007, 09:28 PM
Ive been doing it for a few months, I just put the Mobo tray's standoff screws on, So the Mobo isn't touching the surface.

The only thing you have to be careful with is PCI/PCI-X cards. When you try to plug or unplug something, They can move, And make the system crash.

they can move and fry. My AW9D-Max's stupid audiomax thing did that. accidently moved it and it caught fire :shrug: :mad:

SLi_dog
08-13-2007, 09:53 PM