PDA

View Full Version : Looking to upgrade my WC for future SLI. Need help.

Dateranoth
06-08-2007, 05:15 PM
I am going to start upgrading my entire system bit by bit, and I would like some input on the parts.

These components will be cooled by the loop: intel c2d 6400 (currently OC to 3.2ghz running around 68C load at 25C ambient) and an 8800GTX ( OC to 655mhz core and 2000mhz mem running at 55C load at 25C ambient). The system would need to be capable of handling another 8800GTX without losing any current OC ability, and if possible the upgrade to quad core. My current system is not capable of this.

I have come up with this parts list. I'm not sure if they are the best for what I am after or not, or if it is possible in a single loop. I'm relatively new to WC. I have a kit installed currently, with the only decent part in it the MCW60 I bought just recently for my GPU. So, my list will also include minor parts such as tubing, just in case someone sees something they think will perform better.

CPU Block: Swiftech Apogee™ GTX CPU Waterblock
Pump: Laing DDC w/ Petra'sTech DDCT-01s Top Combo (18W)
Radiator: Swiftech MCR-320 "Quiet Power" Series Radiator - Black
or
Thermochill PA120.3 Radiator
( I don't know enough about the difference. Is the PA120 worth the extra 70? )
Reservoir: ( This I do not know enough about. I assume it needs to be sized according to my radiator, but I don't have any clue to that so any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. )
Fans: 3x 120mm Yate Loon D12SL-12 (47cfm, 28dba) ( will these provide enough airflow for the rads? )

Bits and Pieces:
Petra'sTech "PT Nuke" (necessary?)
Petra'sTech "Gel-Stuff" Vibration Absorption Block ( is this necessary with the selected pump?)
120mm Sound Vibration Dampener (are these recommended for the fans?)
1/2" ID (3/4" OD) Tygon R-3603 Laboratory-Grade Tubing ( is this my best choice in size?)