PDA

View Full Version : i'm a noob please help

shp1124
06-17-2003, 03:11 PM
i have 2 questions i need cleared first of all my rig is nothing special msi kt3 ultra 1800+xp 768 megs pc2100 kingston 60 gig 7200 rpm hd geforce3 ti500 i dont overclock cuz i'm paranoid bout ruining my computer because i used to use a 533 celeron so you could imagine how much i cherish my new computer which i built. anyway the inside of my computer is pretty sloppy and so far the only cooling i have in my rig is my psu exhaust fan my cpu hs and fan and i have the side panel of my case off i my ide wires are pretty messy and clump up a lot of space would the round cables make much of a difference in cooling? and my 2nd question i used to have a thermaltake dragon orb 2 and it was way 2 loud and my idle and load temps were 43C/50C i got a new fan which was suppose to cool it to around 38C load but my cpu is still at 43C/47C idle/load i have arctic silver on it what should i do? please experienced people help out a man with much trouble post or im me on aim hoon1124 thanx very much

KnightElite
06-17-2003, 03:31 PM
Why do you need 100 posts?

Anyway, I would recommend that you get an SLK-800 with an 80mm fan to replace your current heatsink. And if you have no real case airflow, and the case side off, then don't bother with round cables.

JBELL
06-17-2003, 03:50 PM
Originally posted by Marine_1
to be able to get into the vip area

VIP Lounge is by invitation only...

classifieds is 100 posts - nonspam posts

Charles Wirth
06-17-2003, 03:51 PM
Shp1124, Welcome to Xtremesystems!

Round cables would help a lot, also add a 80mm case fan in front of the case sucking air into your case to that the PSU fan is the exhaust. Clear all obstructions from above the CPU, tuck and hide cables if possible.

Teus
06-17-2003, 07:45 PM
first advice: use periods to create sentences ;)
second: clean up everything. you don't need rounded cables immediately. take som zipties and strap the IDE cables together