PDA

View Full Version : Direct Comparison GTX360 vs PA120.3 results

Sideroxylon
05-29-2007, 06:22 PM
Hey guys,

I had the opportunity to buy a PA120.3 for an extremely good price (THANKS Masaville :up: ) and I've always been curious how my GTX360 would stack up against the king of the wc'ing world. Since I've never been able to find a direct comparison between these two rads I thought I'd do some tests and share the results with you guys.

Keep in mind that I'm no expert and my "test equipment" is simplistic at best. I don't know the laws of thermodynamics and don't pretend to. I'm just throwing up my results for you guys to see. Here's the test setup...

QX6700 at 3.2g @ 1.45v
D-Tek Fuzion
50z-DC12 pump
3X Scythe fans (http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=49&products_id=20746) rated @ 63.3cfm
1/2" Tygon tubing

Temps are read with the bigNG. It has 4 analogue sensors that I calibrated to its digital sensor. The digital sensor is calibrated to a little digital thermometer I use for ambient temps. The analogues are at the air intake and exhaust of the rad and 2 water temp sensors at the inlet and outlet of the rad. When I switched the rads that's all I switched. So I had the same mount on the CPU all through testing.

I did testing for an hour with Prime95 v251 to load all four cores. I took readings every 10 minutes and then averaged them out. CPU temps are taken with Coretemp. All temps are celsius. I couldn't keep ambient temps the same throughout testing. The day I tested the PA ambient temps were 1.5-2c cooler than when I tested the GTX. So, the PA's temps have been adjusted to reflect that difference.

CPU and fans at 100%...

---------Ambient--Air Intake--Air Exhaust--Water Inlet--Water Outlet--CPU
GTX360----27.1-----27.4---------29.3--------29.6---------28--------62.5
PA120.3----27.1------27----------29----------30----------28--------62.1

Here's Idle temps with fans at 100%...