PDA

View Full Version : Q6600, Striker, XMS2800...why cannot overclock??

r3zon8
05-19-2007, 10:33 PM
Q6600
Artic Freezer Pro 7
Stiker Extreme, 1002 Bios
XMS2 ddr2-800

I do admit i am somewhat new to overclocking, especially core2quads, but i recently upgraded from the P5W-DH motherboard to the Striker with the hopes of building a well rounded SLI machine. So i went with the Striker because thats what Kingpin uses ;).

Ive run into this problem however, everytime i go into the extreme tweaker sub menu and specify my fsb/mem clocks when the motherboard reboots, it posts..but it gets stuck with just 'Pheonix Bios" and some other lines of text on the screen...thats it.. it wont budge form there.

ive tried slightly adjusting Vcore, Vmem, NB/SB v...and everytime i get the same result. and im only asking for a 330 fsb, so 1320effective which i was told this board could easily handle.

im not sure if its the cpu or the mem, but im just about ready to give up on this q6600/striker combo and go back to my e6400/p5w combo which was stable as a rock at 400x8.

if anyone with a similar setup as mine could post what their BIOS settings are i would really appreciate it.

Also, at stock clocks, the machine runs fine..but with 8800 GTS's at 650gpu/850mem in SLI i am only getting 12555 3dmark06 score....this seems real low to me?? what is going on?? on my p5w/q6600 setup iwas at 11777 with a SINGLE gts card. how could another 8800GTs only give me 800 points more?

i must be doing something wrong...please help xtreme gurus.

CraptacularOne
05-19-2007, 10:57 PM