PDA

View Full Version : Building a 360

TheHuntsman
05-17-2007, 12:45 AM
Hey! Bearing in mind I have very little knowledge of how games consoles work internally, I was wondering if it is technically possible to create a cheaper, homemade version of the xbox 360 using computer parts, and then putting the xbox bios and dashboard, or whatever it runs on, into it.

I'm aware that your all probably going to say "why??!!" and I'm also aware that it would probably be more worthwhile to build a nice gaming PC. Please humour me.

Let me know your thoughts.

Shaz
05-17-2007, 04:12 AM
Quite simply put, no.

It's VERY unlikely due to the processor and the fact that the games are programmed specifically for it's architecture. I would assume it's possible for the Xbox 1 but the 360 is far less likely as the first simply used a PIII/Celeron. You'd need to match all the parts which I doubt can be bought.

TheHuntsman
05-17-2007, 04:51 AM
hmmm i assumed as much just wanted to check. Next question then...is it possible to make an upgraded version of the xbox 1? ie better graphics? or are the games encoded to work specifically to one graphics setting and wouldnt improve even if you could upgrade?

Arkangyl
05-17-2007, 05:02 AM
In general, all you can do to a console is add in modchips to block its regional sensors and let you play import games (and do some illegal stuff, but that's BAD :devil: )
All the chips are hardwired onto the mainboard and cannot be changed, the OS is also only programmed to work with the given hardware and especially with the newer consoles, the hardware is very specialized and proprietary.
Unless you want to re-write the code and re-solder the mainboard you can't really do too much to change the console. If you can do those things, I'd suggest getting a job with MS/Sony/Ninty

Shaz
05-17-2007, 06:44 AM