PDA

View Full Version : Vmod tools

antipop
06-13-2003, 02:57 PM
I'll have some free time in july so i wanted to start looking at Vmods. But until now, i've no soldering skills nor any tool. So i'd like to know what i need to buy to succeed a Vmod.
I've some vid cards that i don't use so i'll first try the mod on them.
Any advice will be appreciated :)
I'll also look a bit more into the forum but there's a lot of information

ps : i've some electronic and electric knowledge (at least school will be useful :))

Tekime
06-14-2003, 09:32 AM
Soldering iron, solder, flux, desoldering braid, helping hands, needle-nose pliers, wire cutters, variety of wires, resistors and pots, and old motherboards/NICs/cards to practice on... to name a few :)

antipop
06-14-2003, 09:59 AM
Thank you but can you be a bit more specific, i mean what to look for precisely

Tekime
06-14-2003, 10:25 AM
Well I'm fairly new to soldering and vmodding myself but I'll try and be a little more precise if I can.

For a soldering iron I suggest you don't cheap out, but I don't think you need anything incredibly fancy. You can get one at Radio Shack for fairly cheap. Be sure to get a fine tip though since you will be doing precision work. You don't want anything over 40 watts for this kind of work, you can get an iron that lets you choose wattage (20/40) for cheap. Stick to 20W for soldering IC's and such. You can get rosin-core silver bearing solder at RS too. The desoldering braid is for removing old solder, and flux is for cleaning and preparing the surface.

Here is some info MrIcee sent to Pyro who showed it to me and I will now show it to you!

My best advice would be what I did...I'm not from an electronics background either: I found some old dead radios and boomboxes..ripped them apart and found some IC's that were approximately the same size as those we needed to solder on the MB. I practiced soldering wires to legs of IC's until I had the technique down perfect...here are some pointers.