PDA

View Full Version : Pelt newb

antipop
06-06-2003, 08:02 AM
I'm a newb in pelt, i've never owned one but i knew a little about it. I was looking at the MCW50 but the MCW50-T is only $20 more. But i've a few question before buying one:

1- What difference will i see if i buy the MCW50-T over the MCW50?
2- Is it easy to install?
3- What kind of paste should i apply?
4- If i hook the pelt to my psu will it work or will i blow the psu (TTGI 440W)? I've a 250W psu that i don't use, maybe i can hook it on it?
5- I don't have a pelt on my cpu block, i'll buy a LRWW soon (at least i plan to :)). Will it increase my cpu temp? The loop will be
pump-> Heatercore-> cpu block-> gpu block-> pump

KnightElite
06-06-2003, 08:14 AM
MCW50-T has a TEC in it instead of a metal plate. You cannot use the MCW50-T without the TEC.
Yes, it should be. It comes with all the proper insulation.
Regular Thermal paste.... whatever you normally use.
It will probably work from your TTGI PSU... if your voltages are dropping too low, then consider hooking it up to the 250W.
Yes, it will increase your CPU temperature because the water will be hotter. If you have good cooling on your water, it should remain manageable though.

Teus
06-06-2003, 08:33 AM
Originally posted by KnightElite
Regular Thermal paste.... whatever you normally use.
It will probably work from your TTGI PSU... if your voltages are dropping too low, then consider hooking it up to the 250W.

use arctic alumina/céramique, they work fine below zero degrees (other pastes not)
-use dedicated PSU, less load = better voltage rails = better overclock. use a relais or so to power the stuff on :)

antipop
06-06-2003, 08:36 AM
Originally posted by KnightElite
[MCW50-T has a TEC in it instead of a metal plate. You cannot use the MCW50-T without the TEC.
Lol i think i've noticed that! I was talking in term of overclocking, i admit it wasn't clear

charlie
06-06-2003, 08:50 AM
AP,