PDA

View Full Version : 8 Core Mac Pro



Papajohn56
04-04-2007, 08:46 AM
Title says it all: http://www.apple.com/macpro/

8 core 3.0GHz. :eleph:

theelectic
04-04-2007, 09:11 AM
Yikes $1498 extra!

Movieman
04-04-2007, 09:16 AM
I'm not a mac guy but they do have the sweetest cases!:fact:
I've got essentially that config here, dual clover at 3200 but it isn't in as sexy a case.

[XC] leviathan18
04-04-2007, 10:21 AM
rather take your dual clover with your g70 and save some money

triple_A
04-04-2007, 10:54 AM
I think apple is OK, i love the way apple stuff looks, but i just hate the fact that pretty much nothing about them can be tweaked or modified and it just costs to dammn much :D
There's some dude here at XS who put his pc hardware in one of those sexy mac pro cases :slobber: the best of both worlds I'd say :D

Movieman
04-04-2007, 11:56 AM
I think apple is OK, i love the way apple stuff looks, but i just hate the fact that pretty much nothing about them can be tweaked or modified and it just costs to dammn much :D
There's some dude here at XS who put his pc hardware in one of those sexy mac pro cases :slobber: the best of both worlds I'd say :D

I remember that. The guy went through hell to make it work.
I wonder what MB Apple is using in that dual clover build and if they will sell the case separately.

Vapor
04-04-2007, 12:34 PM
Most definitely Foxconn based board. And that case can sorta be bought separately....

Movieman
04-04-2007, 12:44 PM
Most definitely Foxconn based board. And that case can sorta be bought separately....

You can read my mind.
I'm wondering if you could slap a supermicro X7xxx board in there.

Vapor
04-04-2007, 12:47 PM
It's a complicated process to get a new case....basically, you need to already own one and have a friend in the Mac repair business who can order a new one for you with your serial #.

Movieman
04-04-2007, 12:55 PM
It's a complicated process to get a new case....basically, you need to already own one and have a friend in the Mac repair business who can order a new one for you with your serial #.

crap..:(
Not that I need another case..I've just always liked that design from apple.

Vapor
04-04-2007, 01:13 PM
Ditto....if it's any solace though, getting one of your (E)ATX boards in there and fitting 'just right' wouldn't happen very easily.

Movieman
04-04-2007, 02:03 PM
Ditto....if it's any solace though, getting one of your (E)ATX boards in there and fitting 'just right' wouldn't happen very easily.

True, but I was thinking one of these, a 10x12" board and technically ATX versus the 12X13 EATX boards:

http://www.supermicro.com/products/motherboard/Xeon1333/5000X/X7DAL-E.cfm

Vapor
04-04-2007, 02:12 PM
I think any ATX-based board won't work because of the differences in mounting hold position :(

That's why it'd be a fun project though :D

Movieman
04-04-2007, 02:18 PM
I think any ATX-based board won't work because of the differences in mounting hold position :(

That's why it'd be a fun project though :D
I would have guessed that with apples move to Intel based boards they would be forced to use ATX or EATX mounts..
Think on it a bit, would they get prioritized boards built when they could use "off the shelf" boards?

Vapor
04-04-2007, 02:24 PM
I would have guessed that with apples move to Intel based boards they would be forced to use ATX or EATX mounts..
Think on it a bit, would they get prioritized boards built when they could use "off the shelf" boards?Nah, getting a custom board made is very, very easy for a company of Apple's size. Nearly every laptop has a different shaped board afterall. Allows them to put the CPUs (and therefore the cooling), the peripheral connections and the RAM wherever they like. The Mac Pro before this one was def not ATX and I'd be surprised if this were anything other than a new PSU and a set of HSFs.

uOpt
04-05-2007, 08:55 AM
Do these things boot Linux and FreeBSD?

kiwi
04-05-2007, 09:17 AM
Do these things boot Linux and FreeBSD?

Of course :)

Xeon Clovertown is basically server cpu based on the same core 2 :)

They should run Windows too

uOpt
04-05-2007, 10:43 AM
Thanks, Kiwi, sounds good.

Now where's that photo of my married boss with that other chick...

ooeric
04-05-2007, 07:23 PM
who says you cant mod and OC them?

use the mod Kunaak intro;d to us. painting 2 points on the cpu to enable 1333 etc etc.

Movieman
04-05-2007, 07:35 PM
who says you cant mod and OC them?

use the mod Kunaak intro;d to us. painting 2 points on the cpu to enable 1333 etc etc.

Listen for a second: These are socket 771 xeons not socket 775 Kentsfields.
DIFFERENT MOD!!!!! Trust me on this..With the clovertowns all you need do with a 1066FSB cpu is put a small piece of electrical tape over the G30 pad and you boot with a 1333FSB..
That is it and don't confuse the xeons with what Kunaak is doing or you will hate yourself bigtime.

Vapor
04-05-2007, 07:47 PM
These are already 333MHz FSB Clovertons....no mods needed (or possible)

Movieman
04-05-2007, 07:52 PM
These are already 333MHz FSB Clovertons....no mods needed (or possible)

Absolutely correct..I'm just talking about the 266(1066) models.
I was afraid that someone would read what ooeric wrote and use the mod that Kunaak is doing on the Kentsfields and try it on a pair of 1066 Clovers and watch things go poof.:D

ooeric
04-05-2007, 07:53 PM
opps my bad all. i got mixed up lol

Movieman
04-05-2007, 07:59 PM
opps my bad all. i got mixed up lol

No problem at all. I'm not perfect and I don't expect anyone else to be.;)

lutjens
04-06-2007, 07:25 AM
I'm left wondering how Apple can announce a 3.0GHz Clovertown system, when the CPU still hasn't been officially announced by Intel.

Papajohn56
04-06-2007, 10:55 AM
Do these things boot Linux and FreeBSD?

Mac OS X is already a BSD derivative so why not just install X, log into >console, use X, and use Fink?

uOpt
04-06-2007, 01:49 PM
Mac OS X is already a BSD derivative so why not just install X, log into >console, use X, and use Fink?

OSX takes all the Unix personality from FreeBSD, namely filesystems, VFS and networking.

VM and several other fundamental things are still a Mach kernel, though, and that is just horrible.

Plus all the administration has been moved to some cute GUI tools. Just using X11 while shutting down the native Mac surface doesn't work, because then you can't do administration anymore. I hope you don't think that Apples X11 running inside the native environment is usable for anything but toying.

I don't need any graphical interface anyway, but MacOS is not good enough for me.

p0tter
04-06-2007, 02:15 PM
Ive seen the case on ebay alot.

lowfat
04-06-2007, 06:49 PM
Ive seen the case on ebay alot.

usually a G5 case, not a Mac Pro case. So one less optical drive. They also are almost always missing a lot of the internal stuff, like I/O boards, dividers, cables, etc. Very hard to get the front I/O to work without the board.

Papajohn56
04-08-2007, 09:09 PM
OSX takes all the Unix personality from FreeBSD, namely filesystems, VFS and networking.

VM and several other fundamental things are still a Mach kernel, though, and that is just horrible.

Plus all the administration has been moved to some cute GUI tools. Just using X11 while shutting down the native Mac surface doesn't work, because then you can't do administration anymore. I hope you don't think that Apples X11 running inside the native environment is usable for anything but toying.

I don't need any graphical interface anyway, but MacOS is not good enough for me.

How about when 10.5 uses ZFS?

uOpt
04-09-2007, 09:56 AM
How about when 10.5 uses ZFS?

The problems are in the VM system, not the filesystem.