PDA

View Full Version : System Expectations

spin_doctor
03-16-2007, 05:10 AM
This'll probably come across as a bit noobish, but then I suppose I am an OC noob...:rolleyes:

With the system listed in my sig (and adequate cooling of course), what is the likelihood of breaking the 4GHz mark?

From the reasearch I've done (here and other places) it would appear that the limiting factor may be the memory (675MHz 4-4-4-12 @ 1.9V), but I can't find anything definitive...

My plan is to go 9x445MHz for the cpu and memory (1:1) and hopefully a vdimm of 2.1v will allow that. I found another post that mentioned that memory having a "wall" around 470MHz so with a bit of luck it'll be ok.

Crucially, are there any critical factors I've missed out or are my estimations not unrealistic?

Nerfy
03-16-2007, 08:07 AM
This'll probably come across as a bit noobish, but then I suppose I am an OC noob...:rolleyes:

With the system listed in my sig (and adequate cooling of course), what is the likelihood of breaking the 4GHz mark?

From the reasearch I've done (here and other places) it would appear that the limiting factor may be the memory (675MHz 4-4-4-12 @ 1.9V), but I can't find anything definitive...

My plan is to go 9x445MHz for the cpu and memory (1:1) and hopefully a vdimm of 2.1v will allow that. I found another post that mentioned that memory having a "wall" around 470MHz so with a bit of luck it'll be ok.

Crucially, are there any critical factors I've missed out or are my estimations not unrealistic?

Looks pretty good. Make sure you have good cooling for CPU, and adequate air flow for the RAM. You might be able to get 445 on the ram, but voltage will need to be around 2.1-2.2, as you said, and I think the latencies will have to be 5-5-5-15.

sparkY1000
03-16-2007, 01:09 PM
I am running 2x512Mb of the same RAM and they are easily capable of 416MHz 4-4-4-12 @1.9V I havent had chance to push them yet but I will try and post some results of how far they will go! :)