PDA

View Full Version : You sure that solid is a state?

Thrilla
03-03-2007, 03:06 AM
I'm pretty confused with what I learned in school lol:

1. molecules in a solid state are tightly packed; molecules in a liquid state are not as tightly packed as liquids; then gas are moving pretty much freely.
2. When water freezes, it expands, same with gallium. (What happened to even more packed molecules?)
3. You can take a gas, compress it, cool it, and it'll condense into a liquid, but you can't compress a liquid into a solid.

:confused: I'm just wondering lol, someone give me an explanation.

DTU_XaVier
03-03-2007, 03:22 AM
I'm no expert, and it's quite a few years since I've had those lessons, but here goes:
Water is simply an exception to the rule... I can't remember the exact explanation..
The best example I can give, is metal... You can't compress metal into a solid state either, you have to cool it... The most important thing to remember is, with materials which are liquid at normal room-temp, pressure isn't that much of a factor when trying to turn it into a solid... Temperatures do the trick...

(This is just me rambling, I really can't remember that much on the subject)

Best Regards :toast:

eddieate
03-03-2007, 03:44 AM

1. molecules in a solid state are tightly packed; molecules in a liquid state are not as tightly packed as liquids; then gas are moving pretty much freely.
2. When water freezes, it expands, same with gallium. (What happened to even more packed molecules?)
3. You can take a gas, compress it, cool it, and it'll condense into a liquid, but you can't compress a liquid into a solid.

Well as I understood its to do with the structure, you know how carbon can have lots of different forms? I.E. diamond, graphite etc. so when water freezes its takes on a solid state but the molecules are further apart because they are actually in a structure, rather than just milling around.