PDA

View Full Version : what is extreme overclocking?

RADCOM
02-27-2007, 10:20 AM
Like most peeps here I buy the best reviewed parts and try an adhere too the knowledge of tried and tested methods of performance gains but what constitutes extreme performance? gaming fps, benchmarks such as pi a huge FSB and memory bandwidth or general system responsiveness? Does a huge FSB albeit a lower multiplier always give an optimized system? It's like the question I asked when I was a newbie .....what computer should I buy? My more learned friends ( at the time ) used to answer what do you use your computer for! Wise words indeed but can you optimize your system to be best at everything or are hardware profiles for what your doing at the time the way to go? many questions beer is the answer lol:toast:

Kunaak
03-04-2007, 11:35 AM
Like most peeps here I buy the best reviewed parts and try an adhere too the knowledge of tried and tested methods of performance gains but what constitutes extreme performance? gaming fps, benchmarks such as pi a huge FSB and memory bandwidth or general system responsiveness? Does a huge FSB albeit a lower multiplier always give an optimized system? It's like the question I asked when I was a newbie .....what computer should I buy? My more learned friends ( at the time ) used to answer what do you use your computer for! Wise words indeed but can you optimize your system to be best at everything or are hardware profiles for what your doing at the time the way to go? many questions beer is the answer lol:toast:

what constitutes extreme performance? gaming fps, benchmarks such as pi a huge FSB and memory bandwidth or general system responsiveness?

what I would say is, its whatever gets you the most for your money.
if you spend 80% less, to get more performance, then a PC that costs a hell of alot more... then thats when its extreme.

theres also a point where you pass "above average", and thats also, another way to judge extreme...